PDA

View Full Version : Finder doesn't see my ipod




mikebatho
Mar 28, 2005, 04:57 PM
...unless I've just started the machine, or have reebooted.

I'f my mac has been on for a while, I plug in the usb cable & connect my ipod, my mac whirrs for a second, then no icon appears on my desktop or in itunes.

Sometimes, if I leave it, I'll come back an hour or so later & it will have appeared, but 90% of the time the only way I can get the ipod seen & be allowed to add tracks is to reboot.

Didn't there used to be something in os9 where you could force mount things? Or search for attached hardware & drives...?



Mechcozmo
Mar 28, 2005, 06:28 PM
Open Disk Utility. If you iPod shows up on the right as a disk, click on it and then choose "First Aid" and then "Repair Disk" and see what happens. If it gives you a message that it was repaired, run it again. If it gave you a message that it appeared to be OK, click on the disk and then click on the button in the toolbar that says something like "Mount" or "Mount Volume" or something like that. It should do what you want.

mikebatho
Mar 29, 2005, 07:02 AM
Nahh, it doesn't show up as a disk in UTILITY. It just pops up when it feels like it, or doesn't at all & I then have to reboot.

It's connected, as it charges straight away, but if my mac isn't seeing it as a drive, I can't get my tunes onto it!!

G.Kirby
Mar 29, 2005, 07:38 AM
Is the ipod the only FW device or have you got several that are linked to gether?

I had a similar problem but got round it by using a different FW port. :)

Unplug all other FW devices then see if it will work. If not, then you may need to reinstal the iPod software.

mikebatho
Mar 29, 2005, 07:57 AM
Nah, its an ipod mini, new style, so its USB.

I plonk it straight in the port on the front of my G5.

It seems to ignore it when the machine has been running for a while & I connect it.

It shows up after a fresh startup, or if I reboot with it connected.....

Hmmmm.

Chappers
Mar 29, 2005, 08:03 AM
Its probably a stupid question but have you repaired permissions recently and is your port a USB2 port?

mikebatho
Mar 29, 2005, 08:09 AM
Done what to permissions?

USB2? Its on the front of my G5, does that help....?

Chappers
Mar 29, 2005, 08:23 AM
In the disk utility first aid, when you select your drive - you can verify or repair permissions.
If you haven't repaired permissions recently then I suggest that you do.

mikebatho
Mar 29, 2005, 08:27 AM
On what, my mac hard drive?

Ipod doesn't show up in disk utility if it isn't showing on my desktop or itunes...

Chappers
Mar 29, 2005, 09:10 AM
Yes the Macs hard drive will need permissions repairing - this is general maintenance really and helps things run smoothly. After you install things like macos updates etc you should repair permissions on your Mac hard drive.
You can verify permissions first but I just repair.

This is just a suggestion and may help your Mac recognise your iPod.

Good luck

mikebatho
Mar 29, 2005, 09:19 AM
Okey dokey, ta,.......

Chappers
Mar 29, 2005, 09:42 AM
While we're at it, you should also get this to run from time to time.

http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/10491

Its called Macjanitor it just manually does some work that macosx would routinely do at 2/3 am. So unless your Mac is on at this time then this maintenance won't happen.
This whole thing is about something called cron scripts that run daily, weekly and monthly and are part of the unix side of the Mac.

big
Mar 29, 2005, 10:40 AM
OH MAN< I'd be surprised if you got it to work. There is a lot of people (including me) that have been bit by this firewire firmware bug. Yep, I said BUG, because it is unwanted software installed on your iPod that is causing it to not be recognized by the finder. You should have no problem connecting via USB 2.0, and then charge over firewire. Some people are claiming to have good luck with the firewire/USB cables, of course, because firewire will power it, and the iPod is talking to the Mac over USB 2.0.<br><br>Secondly, if you get into your low level ieee bus, you WILL see the ipod, though it is protected software, so I can't "crack" into the iPod to reset the firmware. There was suppose to be a firmware update yesterday, but I have yet to look into it.... you're gonna have to look at all the thousands of post of people who have had the same issue since the Jan updater came out, the February one has the same firmware, and I think the March updater, just excluded it. I would suggest calling Apple's Public Relations, and filing a formal complaint. When I called, they gave me a case number, and said they'd pass it on to the proper people, though it may take a few hundred of us calling to complain...

Chappers
Mar 30, 2005, 02:54 AM
Well it was worth a try. If nothing else the system maintenance advice will come in handy. Ironically I'm running my new iPod mini off of a USB 1 port. It seems to work.

mikebatho
Mar 30, 2005, 05:40 AM
Yep, there's certainly a few things to try anyway.

I repaired all the preferences last night, so I'll see if there's an improvement when I get home after work.

Thanks everyone.....

Chappers
Mar 30, 2005, 07:39 AM
and if you have a main USB 1 port - try that too, as that works for me. You just never know.