Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ptit

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 6, 2011
moon
Hey guys

I am new to FCP and digital video,
-i have FCP7 which was pricy and i use a
-macbook pro 17 c2d/2.66/1TB HD late 2006 model,
-OSX 10.6.4

I have videos i shot with a green screen using the iPad 2 and iPhone,
I want to use them in the FCP timeline, im told that if the set up matches i dont need to re render, but i like to ask how this is done because i can not find matching presets in FCP?

Nov 28, 2010
located
As the iPad 2 and iPhone 4 use H.264 as codec, you need to transcode the footage via MPEG Streamclip to a QuickTime (CMD+E) using the ProRes codec for video and Uncompressed for audio, MPEG Streamclip even has a Batch List (CMD+B) to transcode more than one video to the same format.
Only that way you can properly use the footage inside FCP 7, as FCP 7 does not see H.264 as editing codec (which it isn't anyway).

Ptit

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 6, 2011
moon
As the iPad 2 and iPhone 4 use H.264 as codec, you need to transcode the footage via MPEG Streamclip to a QuickTime (CMD+E) using the ProRes codec for video and Uncompressed for audio, MPEG Streamclip even has a Batch List (CMD+B) to transcode more than one video to the same format.
Only that way you can properly use the footage inside FCP 7, as FCP 7 does not see H.264 as editing codec (which it isn't anyway).

English please, just kidding, thanks for your post

what im confused about is the CMD+B thingy, assuming its one of the export formats of Streamclip app.. is this correct?

Nov 28, 2010
located
English please, just kidding, thanks for your post

what im confused about is the CMD+B thingy, assuming its one of the export formats of Streamclip app.. is this correct?

CMD+B is the Batch List, meaning you can add several clips (10s, 100s, 1000s) and apply a SINGLE setting to all of them and transcode those.