PDA

View Full Version : PowerBook G4. Should I Upgrade to Leopard?




Bailey0799
Jul 9, 2011, 11:28 PM
My specs are:
Machine Name: PowerBook G4 12"
Machine Model: PowerBook6,8
CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.2)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 1.5 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 1.25 GB
Bus Speed: 167 MHz
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled
Version: 1.0
Hard Drive Space:
80gb HDD (total)
Free Space: 62.62gb


My Operating System is
Mac OS X 10.4.11 (Tiger)

UPDATE 1: OK i will upgrade BUT i dumbly used my mac (before i upgraded) as my last computer to sync with...

will i be able to upgrade and still sync my iPod touch or not? if there is anyway to fix this tell me!!!!



simsaladimbamba
Jul 9, 2011, 11:31 PM
I would say no from my experience with a G4 with 1GHz and 1.25GB RAM, but others would say different (and have).

Intell
Jul 9, 2011, 11:33 PM
I say go for it. My Cube has similar specs (1.5Ghz, 738Mb ram) to your PowerBook and it runs wonderfully. My only recommendation is you wipe and install. Don't upgrade from Tiger. Leopard seems to run faster when its new as opposed to an upgrade.

Bailey0799
Jul 9, 2011, 11:35 PM
@intell Thank You for that tip but i am still stuck...

joepunk
Jul 10, 2011, 12:47 AM
I did and it works wonderful. I too suggest a fresh clean install and not the "upgrade." But, for me I had to do the "upgrade" route because I didn't have space on my external hard drive for backup.

See sig for powerbook specs.

jmazzamj
Jul 10, 2011, 01:28 AM
I'd say go for it.

I'm currently typing on a Atom netbook powered by Leopard 10.6.8 and it performs well with just 1 GB RAM. In terms of processor power it's on par or slightly faster than your PB, so I'd say go for it.

Actually I would suggest to Time Machine your current system and backup your HD with SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner. Boot from the external, make sure everything is ok, wipe your HD, install Leopard in it and recover your data from a Time Machine backup: It will be like you never left your Tiger installation.

If it's not satisfactory, just wipe your HD, plug in your external, boot from your backup and clone it back you Tiger system.

Cheers

brycemason
Jul 10, 2011, 01:51 AM
I run leopard on my PB12 1.5GHz. It's great, and I especially like having Spaces.

daneoni
Jul 10, 2011, 05:19 AM
I'd stick with TIger for any PPC machine personally but thats just me.

Nameci
Jul 10, 2011, 08:41 AM
Just weight in the points, what do you want, a "speedier" OS (which I doubt - Tiger) for your PPC mac or an OS that still have security support in this case Leopard?

Its always a compromise.

Riky.loebis
Jul 10, 2011, 08:49 AM
I'd say go for it.

first, max ur memory for working good with leopard (done,Memory: 1.25 GB)
I suggest a fresh clean install and not the "upgrade."
most of new apps mininum support with os leopard

kellen
Jul 10, 2011, 09:32 AM
I have the same laptop. It runs fine. I just took off some of the effects ithe dock and it seems to be running great, not any change from tiger that I notice.

QuarterSwede
Jul 10, 2011, 09:39 AM
I relegated my 12" PB (same specs as yours) to our file server and it works fine on Leopard. Spaces is a total must for that size screen (although I usually remote in now since it's in our basement).

Bailey0799
Jul 11, 2011, 10:48 AM
I run leopard on my PB12 1.5GHz. It's great, and I especially like having Spaces.

i know! i was googling a spaces alt for tiger for hours!

mac.tastic
Jul 11, 2011, 11:06 PM
Leopard is perfect for G4s above 1GHz.

Badrottie
Jul 12, 2011, 02:03 AM
go for it Leopard is close to snow leopard

mac.tastic
Jul 12, 2011, 02:15 AM
go for it Leopard is nowhere near snow leopard

Corrected.