PDA

View Full Version : Bootcamp Windows 7 install issues




TitanTiger
Jul 17, 2011, 07:20 PM
I have two issues actually.

1. When I attempt to install Windows the setup begins but then it says that some required drivers aren't available. It tells me that I can eject the installation CD for this portion and put in a disc that has the drivers, but I can't eject the Windows 7 install disc. The eject key doesn't work and there's no manual eject pinhole on an iMac.

2. At the beginning of the setup, I'm not getting a prompt that tells me to select the partition to install it on. I don't know if that's supposed to come later but I don't want to install Windows over my Mac OS X partition.

What am I missing here?



ayeying
Jul 17, 2011, 09:19 PM
What system are you installing it to?

TitanTiger
Jul 17, 2011, 11:05 PM
What system are you installing it to?
I have an iMac 21.5" running Snow Leopard 10.6.8.

cuestakid
Jul 17, 2011, 11:18 PM
a couple of questions-

1. Are you sure that your model is compatible with Windows 7 (only certain macs are compatible with Windows 7) ? That would be the first thing to check.



2. The chooser only comes up if you hold down the option key. If you hold down the option key when you boot up, do you see both partitions?

TitanTiger
Jul 18, 2011, 08:48 AM
a couple of questions-

1. Are you sure that your model is compatible with Windows 7 (only certain macs are compatible with Windows 7) ? That would be the first thing to check.
It should be. My Mac is a year old...the 21.5", 3.06 GHz Core2Duo, 500GB hard drive one.



2. The chooser only comes up if you hold down the option key. If you hold down the option key when you boot up, do you see both partitions?
The chooser I'm talking about is supposed to happen within the Windows installer, at least according to the Bootcamp help manual.

TitanTiger
Jul 18, 2011, 08:54 AM
Also, does anyone know how you're supposed to be able to eject a disc while in the Windows installer?

UMJD2002
Jul 18, 2011, 08:56 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

You have to go into my computer and eject the disk that way. The eject button won't work until you install the bootcamp drivers in windows

TitanTiger
Jul 18, 2011, 08:59 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

You have to go into my computer and eject the disk that way. The eject button won't work until you install the bootcamp drivers in windows

I'm in the early part of the Windows installer. I don't have My Computer yet.

balamw
Jul 18, 2011, 04:37 PM
Also, does anyone know how you're supposed to be able to eject a disc while in the Windows installer?

You can't. This is why the Boot Camp instructions say: You must use a single full-install Windows installation disc. You cannot use an upgrade version of Windows. If you’re installing Windows XP, you must use Service Pack 2 or later. You cannot install an earlier version of Windows XP and then attempt to update it later.

Usually Apple recommends putting the required drivers on a USB key if there are any required. Can you post a screenshot (or copy the info) from :apple: -> About our Mac -> More info -> Hardware.

Where/how did you get your W7 install disc? Is it retail, OEM, upgrade, ...?

B

TitanTiger
Jul 18, 2011, 11:40 PM
Model Name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac10,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 3.06 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
Boot ROM Version: IM101.00CC.B00

I have a DVD I burned from an .iso file and have a volume license.


Also, here's what I'm being asked for (see attached photo):

balamw
Jul 19, 2011, 05:32 AM
This error usually comes down to a bad burn. I'd suggest you verify your ISO, burn at slower speed and/or use different media.

If you can, also separate variables by trying a retail ISO. You can download an official one from Microsoft via Digital River via links that are easy to find. (can't copy & post easily from my iPhone).

B

Abelsen
Oct 21, 2011, 06:33 AM
@TitanTiger

I have the same problem. Did you find out if the problem was a bad burn??

million7
Nov 20, 2011, 12:43 AM
im having the same problem also, did you find the solution?

FrenzyBanana
Sep 27, 2012, 07:01 AM
I have the same issue. Help please