PDA

View Full Version : Remote desktop




multinode
Jul 18, 2011, 06:03 AM
I need to see my MBP desktop from my iPad over my local WiFi LAN so that I can remote launch a MBP app. I do not want to use the internet ... it must be local. Does anybody have any suggestions?

I tried Mocha VNC, but I couldn't get it to work.



Photics
Jul 18, 2011, 06:24 AM
I need to see my MBP desktop from my iPad over my local WiFi LAN so that I can remote launch a MBP app. I do not want to use the internet ... it must be local. Does anybody have any suggestions?

I tried Mocha VNC, but I couldn't get it to work.

I don't know what's best for you, but here's what I did...

The Mac has VNC built-in, so I just turned that on, and then I downloaded an app called Remoter VNC. With that app I could access my Mac over my local network. (It's a universal binary, so I used it on my iPhone 4.)

I stopped using it though, because it didn't feel secure enough to me. There is an in-app purchase for SSH, but I'm not sure if Apple's VNC supports that. Heh, I probably could have done more research, but squishing my desktop on a phone wasn't exactly great for productivity. With an iPad, it might be more comfortable.

multinode
Jul 18, 2011, 07:50 AM
Hi

The Remoter VNC that you described sounds like EXACTLY what I need. I downloaded it and installed on my iPad but I couldn't get it to work.

It asked for the VNC hostname. My MacBook Pro is named macLite2, so I gave it that ... no good. In the Sharing System Preference it's noted that users could log in by using 192.168.2.100, so I gave it that ... no good.

What am I doing wrong please. They assigned a port number of 5900 ... I didn't change that. My MBP is connected to a network named macLite and my iPad is also connected (WiFi) to the macLite network.

I don't know what's best for you, but here's what I did...

The Mac has VNC built-in, so I just turned that on, and then I downloaded an app called Remoter VNC. With that app I could access my Mac over my local network. (It's a universal binary, so I used it on my iPhone 4.)

I stopped using it though, because it didn't feel secure enough to me. There is an in-app purchase for SSH, but I'm not sure if Apple's VNC supports that. Heh, I probably could have done more research, but squishing my desktop on a phone wasn't exactly great for productivity. With an iPad, it might be more comfortable.

zflauaus
Jul 18, 2011, 12:04 PM
Hi

The Remoter VNC that you described sounds like EXACTLY what I need. I downloaded it and installed on my iPad but I couldn't get it to work.

It asked for the VNC hostname. My MacBook Pro is named macLite2, so I gave it that ... no good. In the Sharing System Preference it's noted that users could log in by using 192.168.2.100, so I gave it that ... no good.

What am I doing wrong please. They assigned a port number of 5900 ... I didn't change that. My MBP is connected to a network named macLite and my iPad is also connected (WiFi) to the macLite network.
Typically the local names are like macLite2.local. Weird, I know. Something that's also got me wondering is why your MBP doesn't show up in the list as a Bonjour computer. Do you have the OS X firewall running by chance? I've noticed this can affect local VNC. Also, make sure you have your user account added to the "Only These Users" area in the Sharing pane.

multinode
Jul 18, 2011, 02:27 PM
Thanks for the suggestion. I changed the host name to macLite2.local and Remoter found it. Now the error message is

"Host: 'macLite2' Port 5900 Access Denied. The VNC server didn't accept the supplied credentials."

My password should be OK. And "All users" are set in the Remote Login panel.

Typically the local names are like macLite2.local. Weird, I know. Something that's also got me wondering is why your MBP doesn't show up in the list as a Bonjour computer. Do you have the OS X firewall running by chance? I've noticed this can affect local VNC. Also, make sure you have your user account added to the "Only These Users" area in the Sharing pane.