Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GorillaPaws

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 26, 2003
Richmond, VA
I was wondering if there is a good resource such as a checklist for anticipating the various failure cases of common Cocoa operations and tasks.

I'm just starting to learn a bit about Unit Testing, and it seems like the most critical dimension in determining how useful the tests will be is in the programmer's ability to anticipate the ways in which their code could possibly fail. I realize this is a skill that is learned over time through lots of experience and becomes automatic, but are there resources out there to help develop this skill?

Some of example cases that quickly come to mind are:
  1. Handling nil and NULL cases
  2. Fencepost errors
  3. Unavailable resources (memory, diskspace, missing files etc.)
  4. Handling odd Unicode characters (e.g. Kanji)
  5. Very large and small numbers as well as 0
  6. Errors resulting from someone subclassing your class

gnasher729

Suspended
Nov 25, 2005
I was wondering if there is a good resource such as a checklist for anticipating the various failure cases of common Cocoa operations and tasks.

I'm just starting to learn a bit about Unit Testing, and it seems like the most critical dimension in determining how useful the tests will be is in the programmer's ability to anticipate the ways in which their code could possibly fail. I realize this is a skill that is learned over time through lots of experience and becomes automatic, but are there resources out there to help develop this skill?

2. Fencepost errors

1. There are no "odd" Unicode characters.
2. Errors introduced by someone subclassing your class are not your problem.
3. All methods return 0 / NO / nil / 0.0 when sent to a nil object. You should design your methods so that this is the correct reply. That saves a lot of error handling in your code.