PDA

View Full Version : is this the correct replacement for my G4?




boynigel
Jul 19, 2011, 07:53 PM
i've got a 2003 ppc G4 with a system hard drive that is on its way out. would this be a correct replacement:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=22-136-457&SortField=0&SummaryType=0&Pagesize=10&PurchaseMark=&SelectedRating=-1&VideoOnlyMark=False&VendorMark=&IsFeedbackTab=true&Page=2#scrollFullInfo



adcx64
Jul 19, 2011, 07:59 PM
That drive will work fine.

raysfan81
Jul 20, 2011, 07:03 PM
i've got a 2003 ppc G4 with a system hard drive that is on its way out. would this be a correct replacement:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=22-136-457&SortField=0&SummaryType=0&Pagesize=10&PurchaseMark=&SelectedRating=-1&VideoOnlyMark=False&VendorMark=&IsFeedbackTab=true&Page=2#scrollFullInfo

If its a desktop then yes you need a 3.5" model like that but if its a laptop then you would need a 2.5". You weren't specific when you described your problem because many Macs were made in 2003 with G4 processors in multiple form factors..

adcx64
Jul 20, 2011, 07:16 PM
Haha the fact that he could have been talking about a laptop didn't even cross my mind, I just assumed he had a PowerMac.

raysfan81
Jul 20, 2011, 07:26 PM
Haha the fact that he could have been talking about a laptop didn't even cross my mind, I just assumed he had a PowerMac.

In this case it could be very important. But I assumed he had a Powermac as well.

boynigel
Jul 21, 2011, 04:10 PM
In this case it could be very important. But I assumed he had a Powermac as well.

no, not a lap top. just installed it and it's not mounting to my desktop. why could this be?

Nameci
Jul 21, 2011, 05:24 PM
Have formatted it thru disk utility?

boynigel
Jul 21, 2011, 06:55 PM
Have formatted it thru disk utility?

no, i guess i missed that one. but if the drive isn't showing up for the install, is it going to show up in disk utility?

Nameci
Jul 21, 2011, 07:30 PM
It would, I guess.

raysfan81
Jul 21, 2011, 08:01 PM
no, i guess i missed that one. but if the drive isn't showing up for the install, is it going to show up in disk utility?

If the drive is working it should show up in disk utility. Just make sure you know the drive model name so you don't format the wrong thing. :D