PDA

View Full Version : MBA SSD is user replaceable




aptar
Jul 21, 2011, 06:12 PM
This may have been discussed elsewhere, but as of yesterday there was still some confusion on whether the SSD was soldered on or not.

TechCrunch confirms by teardown

http://techcrunch.com/2011/07/21/teardown-of-new-13-macbook-air-finds-almost-no-differences-from-old-model/



striker33
Jul 21, 2011, 06:22 PM
This may have been discussed elsewhere, but as of yesterday there was still some confusion on whether the SSD was soldered on or not.

TechCrunch confirms by teardown

http://techcrunch.com/2011/07/21/teardown-of-new-13-macbook-air-finds-almost-no-differences-from-old-model/

I never would have guessed that considering theres a front page post regarding the iFixit breakdown.

WardC
Jul 21, 2011, 06:28 PM
Be aware that you won't be able to have TRIM support with all of the 3rd party Blade SSD solutions. I know for a fact that the OWC SSDs do not support TRIM.

aptar
Jul 21, 2011, 06:31 PM
I never would have guessed that considering theres a front page post regarding the iFixit breakdown.

Ahh, oops, I glanced quickly and saw the blue bar chart and thought it was the same Geekbench one from earlier.

WardC
Jul 21, 2011, 06:33 PM
The plus side to this is that we have discovered that the chipset supports SATA III (6Gbit/sec) although the link speed of the SSD is SATA II (3Gbit/sec). This means you may be able to upgrade with a SATA III SSD at a later time to improve SSD speed performance substantially. Perhaps the SATA III Blade SSDs were not available at the current time, and Apple will start building the MBA with a faster SATA III SSD installed as they become available.

mickliq
Jul 22, 2011, 05:02 PM
http://blog.macsales.com/11196-follow-up-new-macbook-air-can-use-owc-aura-ssd#more-11196

I hadn't remembered about TRIM. Damn. The only way I can really make an MBA work is with a 480GB SSD...

tbobmccoy
Jul 22, 2011, 05:05 PM
http://blog.macsales.com/11196-follow-up-new-macbook-air-can-use-owc-aura-ssd#more-11196

I hadn't remembered about TRIM. Damn. The only way I can really make an MBA work is with a 480GB SSD...

I'd recommend a high capacity external before I went 480GB on the SSD... even the thunderbolt RAID array would be a better deal IMO, unless you ABSOLUTELY need the space portably.

mickliq
Jul 23, 2011, 08:27 PM
I'd recommend a high capacity external before I went 480GB on the SSD... even the thunderbolt RAID array would be a better deal IMO, unless you ABSOLUTELY need the space portably.

Needs to be all-in one :( I have a 512GB SSD in my MBP 15" and it's great.