PDA

View Full Version : MBA RAM performance question




freefalls
Jul 21, 2011, 06:24 PM
Hi there,

I have a mid 2009 MBP.
2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
upgraded the hard drive to Intel SSD 80GB

I would like to replace this machine with MBA. But since the MBA only comes with 4GB RAM maximum, would it outperform my current MBP?

I use Parallels a lot for doing .NET development. I've currently assigned 4GB to the VM and 4GB to OSX.

Things are running smoothly with the current setup. But I want the portability of the MBA.

Should I upgrade?

Thanks in advance



thefirstone
Jul 21, 2011, 07:49 PM
Hi there,

I have a mid 2009 MBP.
2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
upgraded the hard drive to Intel SSD 80GB

I would like to replace this machine with MBA. But since the MBA only comes with 4GB RAM maximum, would it outperform my current MBP?

I use Parallels a lot for doing .NET development. I've currently assigned 4GB to the VM and 4GB to OSX.

Things are running smoothly with the current setup. But I want the portability of the MBA.

Should I upgrade?

Thanks in advance

I would like to know the comparison too even though I'd be running Tomcat and Eclipse.