PDA

View Full Version : 2011 Airs 450mbps Wi-Fi?




aristobrat
Jul 21, 2011, 07:03 PM
The latest MBPs and iMacs can connect to some 802.11n routers at 450mbps, whereas previous generations topped out at 300mbps (IIRC).

http://www.yourdailymac.net/2011/05/how-to-activate-450-mbps-wi-fi-on-your-2011-spec-macbook-pro-or-imac/

Was wondering if anyone with a new Air that also has a newer Apple router can try this and report back?

Thanks! :)



takao
Jul 24, 2011, 12:34 PM
The latest MBPs and iMacs can connect to some 802.11n routers at 450mbps, whereas previous generations topped out at 300mbps (IIRC).

http://www.yourdailymac.net/2011/05/how-to-activate-450-mbps-wi-fi-on-your-2011-spec-macbook-pro-or-imac/

Was wondering if anyone with a new Air that also has a newer Apple router can try this and report back?

Thanks! :)

i second that question since i just ordered an Air and i'm in the market for a new router i nthe next months

aristobrat
Jul 24, 2011, 12:35 PM
I've got the latest generation Time Capsule already, and a 2011 13" Air on the way, so if nobody beats me to it, I'll def update this thread!

takao
Jul 24, 2011, 12:51 PM
I've got the latest generation Time Capsule already, and a 2011 13" Air on the way, so if nobody beats me to it, I'll def update this thread!

thanks i would appreciate it ...

typically how apple is silent about it's technical specs not only on the macs themselves but also on peripherals...

ZBoater
Jul 24, 2011, 12:53 PM
I've got the latest generation Time Capsule already, and a 2011 13" Air on the way, so if nobody beats me to it, I'll def update this thread!

I bought the 2TB Time Capsule with my new MBA, and a 70GB restore took 4 hours.... :(

theSeb
Jul 24, 2011, 12:59 PM
I bought the 2TB Time Capsule with my new MBA, and a 70GB restore took 4 hours.... :(

Could you copy a file that is at least 1 GB and tell us how many megabytes per second you're getting? Finder does not show this info, but you can download a trial of PathFinder and do the copy using it.

Edit: please do the test using Ethernet and using wireless, if you can. The TC is not known for it's capabilities as a "NAS", but at least we will get some idea.

ZBoater
Jul 24, 2011, 01:06 PM
Could you copy a file that is at least 1 GB and tell us how many megabytes per second you're getting? Finder does not show this info, but you can download a trial of PathFinder and do the copy using it.

Edit: please do the test using Ethernet and using wireless, if you can. The TC is not known for it's capabilities as a "NAS", but at least we will get some idea.

Will do. I am about to go to the Apple store to pickup a USB Ethernet adapter, and will download Pathfinder to see whats up.

EDIT: I copied a 1.5TB movie and it started at 15MB/second and slowly dropped to 10MB/second as the copy progressed. Definitely a lot faster than Time Machine restoring from it. Odd. Ethernet cable is not here yet.

vow
Jul 24, 2011, 03:44 PM
I'm about 6 feet away from my new Time Capsule right now on my 13" i7

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/22176/Screen%20Shot%202011-07-24%20at%203.34.01%20PM.png

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/22176/Screen%20Shot%202011-07-24%20at%203.37.53%20PM.png

theSeb
Jul 24, 2011, 04:03 PM
Thank you both. The speeds are inline with what I would expect for real world N wifi.

Will do. I am about to go to the Apple store to pickup a USB Ethernet adapter, and will download Pathfinder to see whats up.

EDIT: I copied a 1.5TB movie and it started at 15MB/second and slowly dropped to 10MB/second as the copy progressed. Definitely a lot faster than Time Machine restoring from it. Odd. Ethernet cable is not here yet.

Copy performance for one large file is better than lots of small files, which is what a large part of your TM backup would consist of. A TM restore would also require more CPU power than a simple copy.

aeror
Jul 24, 2011, 04:09 PM
I would imagine the bottleneck to be the hard drive in time capsule in vow's case.
One might try between two airs on an ad-hoc network to be sure or even better, copying between two ram-disks or similar.

theSeb
Jul 24, 2011, 04:12 PM
I would imagine the bottleneck to be the hard drive in time capsule in vow's case.
One might try between two airs on an ad-hoc network to be sure or even better, copying between two ram-disks or similar.

Even a 5400 RPM can easily exceed the fastest wifi speeds. The bottleneck is in the TC itself and its lack of processing power.

vow
Jul 24, 2011, 04:25 PM
I would imagine the bottleneck to be the hard drive in time capsule in vow's case.
One might try between two airs on an ad-hoc network to be sure or even better, copying between two ram-disks or similar.

Forgot to mention that I was copying to my NAS box that's hard wired to the Time Capsule.

ZBoater
Jul 24, 2011, 05:43 PM
I just copied the same file to my Time Capsule using an ethernet cable and the USB Ethernet adapter.

Same speed. 10.5MB/second.

Sigh.

Would that possibly be the fastest the Time Capsule can write a file?

theSeb
Jul 24, 2011, 05:43 PM
Forgot to mention that I was copying to my NAS box that's hard wired to the Time Capsule.

What NAS are you using just out of interest?

vow
Jul 24, 2011, 06:41 PM
What NAS are you using just out of interest?

I'm using the Synology DS11J

jenzjen
Jul 24, 2011, 07:47 PM
The latest MBPs and iMacs can connect to some 802.11n routers at 450mbps, whereas previous generations topped out at 300mbps (IIRC).

http://www.yourdailymac.net/2011/05/how-to-activate-450-mbps-wi-fi-on-your-2011-spec-macbook-pro-or-imac/

Was wondering if anyone with a new Air that also has a newer Apple router can try this and report back?

New 2011 Air's are still capped at 300

neteng101
Jul 24, 2011, 08:06 PM
New 2011 Air's are still capped at 300

Yuck - why? :mad:

theSeb
Jul 25, 2011, 01:09 AM
New 2011 Air's are still capped at 300

Source?

jenzjen
Jul 25, 2011, 02:15 AM
Source?

Self test, '11 MBA right next to the '11 Extreme rate would not exceed 300

Davidkoh
Jul 25, 2011, 02:26 AM
Still not fast enough to support my home connection atleast. I get around 70-80 Mbit depending on where I am in the apartment, so around 10 MB/s. Too bad, I was hoping it would be quick enough not to be a huge bottleneck at home. I see no difference between this one and my 2010 MBP.

mroseneo
Jul 31, 2011, 12:21 PM
Self test, '11 MBA right next to the '11 Extreme rate would not exceed 300

Is everything set up to use Wide Channels like in the OPs FAQ?

Pressure
Jul 31, 2011, 01:02 PM
It's quite simple.

You need 3 antennas for 3x3 MIMO, as currently found in the iMac and MacBook Pro.

If you saw the pictures from iFixit (http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/FbQSKYikPnVoM1Gu.huge) you could clearly see that only 2 antennas are going to the Wi-Fi/Bluetooth board.

mroseneo
Jul 31, 2011, 01:07 PM
Thanks for the reply. I see now. I just had a look at the macbook pro teardown and you can clearly see 3 antennas. It appears that they are using a broadcom chip in the Airs still which in not compatible with 450mbs anyways.

flynz4
Jul 31, 2011, 01:58 PM
Will do. I am about to go to the Apple store to pickup a USB Ethernet adapter, and will download Pathfinder to see whats up.

EDIT: I copied a 1.5TB movie and it started at 15MB/second and slowly dropped to 10MB/second as the copy progressed. Definitely a lot faster than Time Machine restoring from it. Odd. Ethernet cable is not here yet.

That must be one hell of movie. Perhaps it is 1.5 GB?

/Jim

axio
Jul 31, 2011, 06:41 PM
There are only 2 wifi stacks in the Air according to anandtech, where each stack can handle full duplex 150mbps, so 2 of them get you 300mbps.
Pro and iMac have 3 stacks

shznit
Aug 12, 2011, 08:21 AM
What's a good N access point to use with the MBA? I don't mind using a cheaper router as an AP, but I don't want to buy the Apple product because I already have enterprise firewall/router and switches.

aristobrat
Aug 12, 2011, 09:30 AM
I know you said no Apple devices, but FWIW, this was AnandTech's summary of the latest Extreme/Time Capsule review. If anything, it gives some perspective on what's currently available on the market.

I guess the reason that I personally use an Airport Extreme (in conjunction with another device for NAT) is that it's really one of a small number of 802.11n dual-band APs I've tried that actually works without locking up, becoming unstable periodically, dropping the session from overheating when being pushed to 100% for hours, or requiring a daily reboot. There are just so many other consumer level 802.11n APs that either fall short or are incredibly frustrating and unreliable. Thus far, I've been using an Airport Extreme Gen 5 and Time Capsule Gen 4 as my primary AP with over 12 devices attached to each one for the greater part of a month without a single instability. It's that kind of stability that really sells it for me, even with 3x3:3 out of the picture.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4577/airport-extreme-5th-gen-and-time-capsule-4th-gen-review-faster-wifi-/9

shznit
Aug 12, 2011, 09:42 AM
I know you said no Apple devices, but FWIW, this was AnandTech's summary of the latest Extreme/Time Capsule review. If anything, it gives some perspective on what's currently available on the market.


http://www.anandtech.com/show/4577/airport-extreme-5th-gen-and-time-capsule-4th-gen-review-faster-wifi-/9
Not bad, but I'm not paying $180 lol.

miles01110
Aug 12, 2011, 09:46 AM
Define "good" and people can actually help you.

shznit
Aug 12, 2011, 10:49 AM
good enough to stream 1080p mkv, steady 30 Mbps should be enough.

jsolares
Aug 12, 2011, 11:12 AM
Not bad, but I'm not paying $180 lol.

That's what the comparable Linksys/Cisco one cost as well, not sure about other makes though.

shznit
Aug 12, 2011, 11:28 AM
That's what the comparable Linksys/Cisco one cost as well, not sure about other makes though.
And that would ok if I needed a router, but I don't. I just need an AP that can do 2x2 with my MBA.