PDA

View Full Version : Would the 2011 i5 MacBook Air 13" be good for developing?




Yumunum
Jul 22, 2011, 02:12 AM
I'm starting college next month, and I'm getting near the moment where I buy my computer...

I want to start learning how to develop applications for both iOS and OS X. Would the 2011 i5 MacBook Air 13" be good for developing? Is the processor fast enough? Could I live without an external monitor (for more real-estate) while developing? Anything else I should be aware of?



LeakedDave
Jul 22, 2011, 02:25 AM
I'm starting college next month, and I'm getting near the moment where I buy my computer...

I want to start learning how to develop applications for both iOS and OS X. Would the 2011 i5 MacBook Air 13" be good for developing? Is the processor fast enough? Could I live without an external monitor (for more real-estate) while developing? Anything else I should be aware of?

Umm the 2010 was.

wordoflife
Jul 22, 2011, 02:29 AM
I certainly don't think it's a bad candidate for developing since it has a resolution of 1440x900. A lot of space to do your work.

It should be fast enough, right? :o

Yumunum
Jul 22, 2011, 03:04 AM
I certainly don't think it's a bad candidate for developing since it has a resolution of 1440x900. A lot of space to do your work.

It should be fast enough, right? :o

Will I often need two windows opened side-by-side when developing? Keep in mind I don't know ANYTHING yet, haha. So my questions are quite stupid! XP

torbjoern
Jul 22, 2011, 03:12 AM
I'm starting college next month, and I'm getting near the moment where I buy my computer...

I want to start learning how to develop applications for both iOS and OS X. Would the 2011 i5 MacBook Air 13" be good for developing? Is the processor fast enough? Could I live without an external monitor (for more real-estate) while developing? Anything else I should be aware of?

Don't worry - it's great for developing! :)

JLatte
Jul 22, 2011, 04:19 AM
I'm starting college next month, and I'm getting near the moment where I buy my computer...

I want to start learning how to develop applications for both iOS and OS X. Would the 2011 i5 MacBook Air 13" be good for developing? Is the processor fast enough? Could I live without an external monitor (for more real-estate) while developing? Anything else I should be aware of?

If I can do it on my 11", the 13" will be more than sufficient. I developed for years on my 13" blackbook. Just shrink the text in Xcode or visual studio to about 10 pt and you're fine.

theSeb
Jul 22, 2011, 04:23 AM
I'm starting college next month, and I'm getting near the moment where I buy my computer...

I want to start learning how to develop applications for both iOS and OS X. Would the 2011 i5 MacBook Air 13" be good for developing? Is the processor fast enough? Could I live without an external monitor (for more real-estate) while developing? Anything else I should be aware of?

Yes. I started coding on ZX Spectrum when I was 9 and then upgraded to a Commodore 64 so you should be fine. They had 32 kilobytes and 64 kilobytes of memory respectively. ;)

rabid snake
Jul 22, 2011, 05:11 AM
I'm developing under my 11" MBA, than again I have it hooked up to a Dell U2311H when I do any coding longer than an hour. If you're doing any serious development work, you probably have multiple monitors anyways.

vow
Jul 22, 2011, 06:22 AM
Umm the 2010 was.

Agreed. I bought the 2010 MBA when it came out and Xcode works just fine. The only development related complaints I have is that I could always use more RAM for my VMs.

TheEmpty
Jul 22, 2011, 06:36 AM
I'm developing under my 11" MBA, than again I have it hooked up to a Dell U2311H when I do any coding longer than an hour. If you're doing any serious development work, you probably have multiple monitors anyways.
+1
I bought one (i7 though) for programming. I did the i7 just so it was more of a "best of the best" and what not. My father (Java developer, finical) says the SSD will provide for better compile times. I do Ruby for a living atm (going to college this year as well) so there is a huge boost in that for me (because Ruby is interpreted not compiled). Overall it's great because the SSD can read really well so all the data needed is easily assceable by the computer. I would definitively get a monitor or a KVM or something though to hook it up to a bigger monitor(s).

Yumunum
Jul 22, 2011, 11:09 AM
Agreed. I bought the 2010 MBA when it came out and Xcode works just fine. The only development related complaints I have is that I could always use more RAM for my VMs.

When you say virtual machines, what do you mean specifically? Windows? Device simulators? If it's about Windows, I'm thinking I'll install it with Bootcamp so I don't have to split my 4GB of RAM. :/

Thanks for the help everyone! Sounds like I'll need to get an external moniter. Would a 1080p TV be enough? Or would something like an Apple Cinema Display be reccomended?

TheEmpty
Jul 22, 2011, 11:11 AM
When you say virtual machines, what do you mean specifically? Windows? Device simulators? If it's about Windows, I'm thinking I'll install it with Bootcamp so I don't have to split my 4GB of RAM. :/

Thanks for the help everyone! Sounds like I'll need to get an external moniter. Would a 1080p TV be enough? Or would something like an Apple Cinema Display be reccomended?

A Cinema display would be smaller then our 1080p TV, what size? I plan on buying a refurb 20in monitor, perhaps bluetooth keyboard and that mouse pad thingy they sell.

Yumunum
Jul 22, 2011, 11:31 AM
A Cinema display would be smaller then our 1080p TV, what size? I plan on buying a refurb 20in monitor, perhaps bluetooth keyboard and that mouse pad thingy they sell.

Well the TV would be "bigger" technically, but it wouldn't actually show much content as a Cinema Display... Wait, are people reccomending external monitors for programming because of the need to view text larger, or because they'd need more screen real-estate? (for multiple windows, ect.) And the TV would probably be around 40 inches if I got one

TheEmpty
Jul 22, 2011, 11:40 AM
Well the TV would be "bigger" technically, but it wouldn't actually show much content as a Cinema Display... Wait, are people reccomending external monitors for programming because of the need to view text larger, or because they'd need more screen real-estate? (for multiple windows, ect.) And the TV would probably be around 40 inches if I got one
Probably screen estate. I'm a web developer so I'll have my IDE, terminal, and file explorer on my left screen. My browser, Skype, and logger on the right. (23in x 2 fully covered).

We have a 1080p monitor that is on a 15in laptop at work ;) I don't go into the office much, everyone there uses cinema displays :( They're nice, but at a thousand dollars, I'll just buy a refurbed 1080p 20in for $100 thank you. If you can spend the money, I have NEVER heard a word against them (except their price).

mmendoza27
Jul 22, 2011, 11:41 AM
Well the TV would be "bigger" technically, but it wouldn't actually show much content as a Cinema Display... Wait, are people reccomending external monitors for programming because of the need to view text larger, or because they'd need more screen real-estate? (for multiple windows, ect.) And the TV would probably be around 40 inches if I got one

It's due to screen real estate. Xcode will primarily take up one main monitor, but you also want room for Apple documentation, the iPhone/iPad simulator, and any other resources you want. I have 3 monitors and it works great, but even that time it seems so much. There are some debates as to whether 2 vs. 3 monitors = more productivity.

TheEmpty
Jul 22, 2011, 11:44 AM
It's due to screen real estate. Xcode will primarily take up one main monitor, but you also want room for Apple documentation, the iPhone/iPad simulator, and any other resources you want. I have 3 monitors and it works great, but even that time it seems so much. There are some debates as to whether 2 vs. 3 monitors = more productivity.

Went to a coworkers house the other day, he has three landscaped that are 30in or more. I think if it's landscape it's good because then you don't have to turn your head as much. Though I would honestly never use all of that space lol. 'eh beside the point of the thread though :P (my post, not yours)

mmendoza27
Jul 22, 2011, 11:47 AM
Went to a coworkers house the other day, he has three landscaped that are 30in or more. I think if it's landscape it's good because then you don't have to turn your head as much. Though I would honestly never use all of that space lol. 'eh beside the point of the thread though :P (my post, not yours)

I guess it depends on preference like everything else. I have a 24" ACD, 24" Samsung, and 20" Dell (that can go portrait if necessary). Sometimes, it's a little much and I often debate just going 27" ACD + 24" ACD. Sucks because the Thunderbolt display won't work with my Mac Pro.