PDA

View Full Version : Lion for 2010 MBA?

treynolds
Jul 23, 2011, 12:06 PM
So after trying to look at all of the Lion threads, I'm trying to make a decision whether to upgrade from Snow Leopard to Lion or not? I already have an iPad 2 and like it a lot, but Im uncertain whether I really want my MBA to have that iPad-like functionality. When I first saw the keynote and Lion premiered, it looked irresistable. Now I'm not so sure...

For those that have done the upgrade:

What do you see as the prime benefits?

What are some of the caveats?

Any performance hits?

Any software conflicts?

I have a late 2010 MBA 13" Ultimate running MS Office 2010, CS4, Aperture 3.0, Parallels with WinXP Pro, ACAD LT 2010 (in Parallels).

Tony

calvol
Jul 23, 2011, 07:16 PM
DON'T DO IT! Go read all the threads in the Lion forum, it's a complete cluster, especially Mission Control and extra drain on battery. I'm keeping Snow, nothing revolutionary about Lion!

treynolds
Jul 23, 2011, 07:21 PM
DON'T DO IT! Go read all the threads in the Lion forum, it's a complete cluster, especially Mission Control and extra drain on battery. I'm keeping Snow, nothing revolutionary about Lion!

Thanks loads. I didn't realize there was dedicated forum for Lion. Shoulda guessed...

Tony

Samsumac
Jul 23, 2011, 07:39 PM
Do it. Its a much more secure OS (read up on it). It has its quirks , but it is a good service pack forward :D than snow leopard. I acouple of point updates will probably mature it and optimise the code under the hood.
There are definetely some upgrade issues, depending on the mac involved and the user doing the upgrade. I had a problem with an mb pro and a c2d mini, while other 5 upgrades with similar gear went by without a hitch.

Ivangf2
Jul 23, 2011, 08:56 PM
Do it, I've upgraded since the first day and I'm no regretting it. Running perfect

eba
Jul 23, 2011, 09:10 PM
Did it myself on my 2010 13 MBA and am very happy with it. I really like Lion a lot. For example: