PDA

View Full Version : Disk is Locked, can't install. Help Please!




bjones521
Jul 23, 2011, 12:10 PM
When I try to install lion and I get to the screen where I chose my hard drive it says my HD is locked and I'm not allowed to install.

It takes me to Disk Utility where I have the options to reinstall Lion but I can't bc my disk is locked. I also get time machine as an option.

What should I do?? How can i install Lion without losing all of my info?



McGiord
Jul 23, 2011, 12:13 PM
You have to first run all the software updates from Apple in a Snow Leopard install to be able to install Lion. Have you done that?
Do a time machine back up before doing the installation, and then you will be able to install Lion on the Disk that you want.

bjones521
Jul 23, 2011, 12:20 PM
You have to first run all the software updates from Apple in a Snow Leopard install to be able to install Lion. Have you done that?
Do a time machine back up before doing the installation, and then you will be able to install Lion on the Disk that you want.

How can i get back to snow leopard without losing everything?

cloud1494
Jul 27, 2011, 11:21 AM
There's an option in the apple menu for choosing which disk you want to boot from. Choose your Macintosh HD option.

Tgantt
Jun 2, 2012, 10:11 AM
I am trying to reinstall Lion with USB Drive because of Boot file curruption. I get Disk locked. How can I fix this. I think I have the right Lion on the USB. I follow the direction on how to creat the drive. Please help and feel free to put it in dumbie terms.
Thanks:confused:

mehrab
Jul 31, 2012, 01:58 AM
Same problem here,
Help !

McGiord
Jul 31, 2012, 07:00 AM
If you have Lion already installed, the you have to boot from the recovery partition.
In System Preferences choose the recovery partition as your Start Up Disk.
Be sure that you are using your Administrator user.

offtheroad
Aug 26, 2012, 01:16 PM
If you have Lion already installed, the you have to boot from the recovery partition.
In System Preferences choose the recovery partition as your Start Up Disk.
Be sure that you are using your Administrator user.

Same problem, but Recovery partician won't show up in system pref's startup Disk
jbechdel@comcast.net

McGiord
Aug 26, 2012, 04:06 PM
Same problem, but Recovery partician won't show up in system pref's startup Disk
jbechdel@comcast.net

Try this:
Link (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4718)