PDA

View Full Version : Can i use Time Machine to transfer from Leopard to Lion




iphoneipad
Jul 24, 2011, 06:31 AM
Just bought an i5 256gb MBA 13. I was using macbook running Mac OSX Leopard, i am just wondering can i use time machine to transfer my stuff across.

Many thanks:)



sparkhill
Jul 24, 2011, 08:16 AM
Yes. Once you start the transfer, do not interrupt though as it is pretty easy to corrupt the Time Capsule sparse bundle.

Robosagogo
Jul 24, 2011, 08:36 AM
What's the actual process?

Do I just plug my external hard drive into the Air before turning it on for the first time?

ZBoater
Jul 24, 2011, 08:57 AM
i don't think you want to do a restore. That would overwrite Lion, wouldn't it? After you boot up you MBA, you want to run Migration Assistant.

vow
Jul 24, 2011, 09:05 AM
When you first load up OS X on the new MBA, it will ask if you want to import from a Time Machine backup.

Or you can set everything up and then use migration assistant to import from a TM backup.

Keep in mind that if you want to import using migration assistant and want to keep the exact same username/Full Name, do NOT create that same user account when setting up Lion. Create a dummy account that will get deleted once you finish importing. If you don't care about keeping the exact username, you can import the content to as a new user.