PDA

View Full Version : iMac G4 17" 800Mhz




Summez
Jul 26, 2011, 10:17 AM
Hi
Just bought a 17"iMac G4 with an 800 Mhz processor.
The mac has come with Leopard installed.
Just looking for some advice, should I Stick with Leopard or downgrade to Tiger?

Thanks



VanneDC
Jul 26, 2011, 11:33 AM
How much ram?

fhall1
Jul 26, 2011, 12:15 PM
If not already, upgrade the RAM to the 1 GB max and stay with Leopard.

Summez
Jul 26, 2011, 12:47 PM
Its got 1GB in it. Thanks for the help.

Riky.loebis
Jul 26, 2011, 11:55 PM
Its got 1GB in it. Thanks for the help.

stay in leopard.
mostly new apps minimum support os leopard than os tiger.

SkippyThorson
Jul 27, 2011, 12:37 AM
I would absolutely stay with Leopard. The big feature for me that made the Tiger to Leopard decision easy was Time Machine. I did miss Tiger for a short time, because I was so used to it, but there are few gains when downgrading to Leopard.

Jethryn Freyman
Jul 27, 2011, 02:25 AM
stay in leopard.
mostly new apps minimum support os leopard than os tiger.
Stay with Leopard for this reason.

I even stayed with Leopard on a 466MHz Power Mac because I find it so much more usable than Tiger.

AdrianK
Jul 27, 2011, 02:45 AM
If not already, upgrade the RAM to the 1 GB max and stay with Leopard.

They can go to 2GB as the the second RAM slot is accessible if crack open the iMac. You do have to reapply thermal paste to the CPU when you're done though.

Summez
Jul 27, 2011, 03:06 AM
Thanks for the info may have to have a go at adding an extra 1gb of ram. I am going to stick with leopard due to the reasons mentioned especially newer apps.

fhall1
Jul 27, 2011, 06:39 AM
They can go to 2GB as the the second RAM slot is accessible if crack open the iMac. You do have to reapply thermal paste to the CPU when you're done though.

No....the 800MHz and 1GHz models can NOT go to 2GB RAM....only the 1.25 GHz (USB 2.0) model supports 2GB RAM....don't waste your money.

aednichols
Jul 27, 2011, 08:02 AM
I would install Tiger. It's very fast on G4 machines, and if you're like me, using it as a secondary or tertiary machine, it doesn't need to run all of the latest apps.

Riky.loebis
Jul 27, 2011, 10:11 AM
Stay with Leopard for this reason.

I even stayed with Leopard on a 466MHz Power Mac because I find it so much more usable than Tiger.

hehe sorry bro..

oh really ur powermac with os leopard?
it's slowly or working good?
how many ram do u use it? 1 giga ?

anyway have u tips or link to instal leopard under ppc speed 897 mhz, like ur powermac?

i'm newbie bro,,hehe
thank's
:apple:

fhall1
Jul 27, 2011, 11:18 AM
hehe sorry bro..

oh really ur powermac with os leopard?
it's slowly or working good?
how many ram do u use it? 1 giga ?

anyway have u tips or link to instal leopard under ppc speed 897 mhz, like ur powermac?

i'm newbie bro,,hehe
thank's
:apple:

Google for "LeopardAssist"

AdrianK
Jul 27, 2011, 01:19 PM
No....the 800MHz and 1GHz models can NOT go to 2GB RAM....only the 1.25 GHz (USB 2.0) model supports 2GB RAM....don't waste your money.

My mistake, thanks for correcting me.