PDA

View Full Version : Powerbook G3 with WPA Airport




KurtangleTN
Jul 27, 2011, 02:09 AM
I recently picked an Airport card up for my Powerbook G3 and since I realized I needed at least Panther (It had 9 and 10.2) for WPA I went ahead and bought Tiger as well.

Now I've spent the last couple of hours battling with it trying to connect to my WPA (not WPA2) network. It connects fine to open networks, and WEP (at least it did in Jaguar/9)

I get the error message "There was an error joining the Airport network "Name"."

Oddly, I have no clue how I managed to connect for a bit.. when I hit "Show password" it was a massive list of numbers that certainly wasn't the router's password. As soon as I put it to sleep it lost connection though.

Anyone have any suggestions? My router is a Linksys WRT150N, all my other computers connect fine.



pacmania1982
Jul 27, 2011, 07:36 AM
Check on the reverse of the airport card at the bottom. It needs to say 128bit. If it doesn't, it'll never connect to a WPA network as the card doesn't support that encryption even though Mac OS X for some reason allows you to choose it.

I fell into that trap with my Pismo

pac

KurtangleTN
Jul 27, 2011, 05:36 PM
My card is 128 bit, but thanks for the tip I'll look for that when I buy in the future for my other Macs.

Interestingly I switched my router to BG mixed rather then BGN mixed and it was able to connect, which is odd because it can connect fine with BGN mixed if I have no encryption, and it somehow connected one time OK with BGN... oh well at least it was solved.

So if anyone in the future is having similar issues with a similar Linksys router you might want to try putting it down to BG mixed.

Thanks!

Intell
Jul 27, 2011, 05:39 PM
My card is 128 bit, but thanks for the tip I'll look for that when I buy in the future for my other Macs.

Interestingly I switched my router to BG mixed rather then BGN mixed and it was able to connect, which is odd because it can connect fine with BGN mixed if I have no encryption, and it somehow connected one time OK with BGN... oh well at least it was solved.

So if anyone in the future is having similar issues with a similar Linksys router you might want to try putting it down to BG mixed.

Thanks!

I've had that problem too. My B Airport card refuses to connect to WPA if the router is in BGN mode. Only when its in BG mode. But it will connect to an Airport Extreme router if its in BGN mode.

KurtangleTN
Jul 27, 2011, 10:24 PM
I've had that problem too. My B Airport card refuses to connect to WPA if the router is in BGN mode. Only when its in BG mode. But it will connect to an Airport Extreme router if its in BGN mode.

You've gotta love troubleshooting with broad errors, just taking random shots in the dark and just hoping..

I really didn't expect that to work, since it worked fine in BGN with no encryption so when I saw it connect it was sort of a triumph there :D