Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

replac

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 29, 2011
i cant decide between quad or dual core i7 minis. I am using Ps cs5 & Ai Cs5 generally. Listen music. Web surfing. Playing Light games.

I will play torchlight . Starcraft 2. Also the second version of torchlight is coming . İ want to play this game on my new mac mini.

At the otherside. I am a freelancer designer . i am working on photoshop and working with ps files up to 1-2 gb and 200+ layers.

i am thinking quad server but the hd intel graphic gpu is annoying me.

Help me to decide which way should i go.

Quad server stock version OR

Dual-Core i7 8gb Ram. SSD+7200 HDD combo ( diy upgrade)

Thanks....

ess5

macrumors member
Jun 18, 2011
(mini-bump, I'm planning the *exact* same DC i7 spec)

The eternal question is: is the i5 ~> i7 upgrade worth the hundred bucks?
Will we see a tangible improvement in day-to-day use? (browsing/pages/whatever)
Managing or playing back media content? (XBMC/Plex/etc., very light encoding)
While gaming? (same stuff, SC2/Torchlight/Portal/etc.)

japtor

macrumors regular
Jun 29, 2010
The eternal question is: is the i5 ~> i7 upgrade worth the hundred bucks?
Will we see a tangible improvement in day-to-day use? (browsing/pages/whatever)
Managing or playing back media content? (XBMC/Plex/etc., very light encoding)
While gaming? (same stuff, SC2/Torchlight/Portal/etc.)
Unless you're constantly pushing it you probably won't notice a difference...and even if you are it probably won't be huge. From most tests I've seen it seems to be about what you'd expect from the clock speed, around 10%. Most people wouldn't notice that.