Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JHake10

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 30, 2011
Hello,

I am new to apple products. I have a desktop that I have built and the graphics card has 2 DVI outputs which I use to connect my 2 monitors. I would like to use the same 2 monitors with my new Mac Mini. When I search online for answers I see many people talking about how to connect the older Mac Mini's (mini Display Port and Mini DVI port) but nothing with the new Mac Mini which has only 1 HDMI port (and the supplied Apple HDMI to DVI adapter). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Nov 28, 2010
located
The 2011 Mac mini also has a ThunderBolt port, for which you can use MDP to DVI adapters.

Mini DisplayPort (MDP)
Mini DisplayPort is the current digital standard on all current Macs to transfer video to an external display or TV. It has been introduced in 10/2008 with the release of the Unibody MacBook and MacBook Pros and has gradually been adopted on all other Macs.
MDP is capable of transmitting video, and since 2010, audio too. MDP is a miniaturised version of DisplayPort. It is also license free and can support resolutions of up to 2560 x 1600, which Mini DVI and Micro DVI are not able to do.
MR_video_out_Mac_Mini_DP.png
MDP adapters can be bought online from:
MDP to VGA adapter from Apple
MDP to DVI adapter from Apple
MDP to Dual-Link-DVI adapter from Apple

Moshi Mini DP to HDMI Adapter with Audio Support adapter from the Apple Online Store

Mini DisplayPort + USB to Dual-Link DVI adapter from Monoprice
Mini DisplayPort to DVI adapter from Monoprice
Mini DisplayPort to VGA adapter from Monoprice
Mini DisplayPort to HDMI adapter from Monoprice - *NOTE* This product will support audio on Mac computers capable of outputting audio through mini-displayport.