PDA

View Full Version : Scan with Sophos Menu Appearing




mdrdsr
Aug 1, 2011, 08:18 AM
I did a clean install (formatted HDD) of Lion. All is well, but today I noticed that if I do a right mouse click on a file, one of the menu options (near the bottom) is to "Scan Now with Sophos Anti-Virus". Prior to my clean Lion install I was running Sophos, but I have not reinstalled it. The menu option does not work and I get a crash report. Is anyone else seeing this menu option? I am running as an admin.

Is there a way to remove this menu item?

Thanks,
David



GGJstudios
Aug 3, 2011, 03:20 AM
Is there a way to remove this menu item?
You're wise not to reinstall Sophos, as it can actually increase your Mac's vulnerability. Antivirus software isn't needed to protect your Mac from malware.

The only effective method for complete app removal is manual deletion:
Best way to FULLY DELETE a program (http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=11171082&postcount=16)

mdrdsr
Aug 3, 2011, 05:31 AM
ThanksGGJ. What I don't understand is how this menu/service choice is appearing as I did a clean install (formatted the drive) with Lion. Is it possible that my backup drive that still contains a bootable clone of my old SL OS is making it appear? I did locate a plist file (attached) for sophos and I disconnected the backup drive and rebooted and the menu/service is now gone. Any ideas? I would really like to understand how that service appeared on a clean install of Lion.


You're wise not to reinstall Sophos, as it can actually increase your Mac's vulnerability. Antivirus software isn't needed to protect your Mac from malware.

The only effective method for complete app removal is manual deletion:
Best way to FULLY DELETE a program (http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=11171082&postcount=16)

GGJstudios
Aug 3, 2011, 09:56 AM
I would really like to understand how that service appeared on a clean install of Lion.
After the clean install, did you restore any data from your backup? You may have inadvertently restored the .plist.

mrapplegate
Aug 3, 2011, 10:24 AM
ThanksGGJ. What I don't understand is how this menu/service choice is appearing as I did a clean install (formatted the drive) with Lion. Is it possible that my backup drive that still contains a bootable clone of my old SL OS is making it appear? I did locate a plist file (attached) for sophos and I disconnected the backup drive and rebooted and the menu/service is now gone. Any ideas? I would really like to understand how that service appeared on a clean install of Lion.

Like GGJstudios said you must have copied the file back over. A clean install can't introduce files from SL. User error has to be involved.