PDA

View Full Version : No startup chime in Lion




5t3f4n
Aug 1, 2011, 05:35 PM
Since I installed Lion I haven't heard the startup chime once.
I did use this (http://www5e.biglobe.ne.jp/~arcana/StartupSound/BETA/index.en.html) under Snow Leopard, but I did a completely fresh install so there should be no leftovers from 10.6.
I was under the impression that the startup chime respected the user-set volume,
but I always shut down with the volume at 50%.
Is it possible that the aforementioned app modifies something at a "deeper level" than the operating system?



gentlefury
Aug 1, 2011, 05:44 PM
Since I installed Lion I haven't heard the startup chime once.
I did use this (http://www5e.biglobe.ne.jp/~arcana/StartupSound/BETA/index.en.html) under Snow Leopard, but I did a completely fresh install so there should be no leftovers from 10.6.
I was under the impression that the startup chime respected the user-set volume,
but I always shut down with the volume at 50%.
Is it possible that the aforementioned app modifies something at a "deeper level" than the operating system?

I'm pretty sure the startup sound is at a bios level...since you hear it regardless of the OS you are booting into.

5t3f4n
Aug 1, 2011, 05:53 PM
In that case, how do I get it back?
The app doesn't support Lion (at least not yet).
I've tried contacting the developer but no reply.

CyBeRino
Aug 1, 2011, 07:17 PM
Resetting the PRAM (boot with cmd-alt-P-R pressed) should bring it back.

5t3f4n
Aug 1, 2011, 07:29 PM
Resetting the PRAM (boot with cmd-alt-P-R pressed) should bring it back.

Thank you.
I've thought about that myself but don't dare try it - in case it actually works.
I enjoy not having it, which is why I muted it in the first place.
It was out of pure curiosity I asked.