PDA

View Full Version : boot into 32-bit mode with encrypted HD




cuestakid
Aug 1, 2011, 08:49 PM
So I decided to try out using an encrypted HD.I didn't realize that by doing that I am enabling a pre-boot authentication. The problem with that is that the only way i can access my VPN for work is booting into 32-bit mode (we have an older version of the Cisco VPN Client).

Does anyone know of a way to boot into 32-bit mode while using an encrypted HD?



Thanks



larkost
Aug 1, 2011, 09:29 PM
Are you sure that you can't use the built-in VPN client? It is possible that you can't (since not all VPN concentrators work), but it is worth checking out. Alternately you can try setting the proper boot parameter in the right file:

http://developer.apple.com/library/mac/#documentation/Darwin/Reference/ManPages/man5/com.apple.Boot.plist.5.html

Note the 32 bit parameter later on in the document.

cuestakid
Aug 1, 2011, 09:35 PM
Are you sure that you can't use the built-in VPN client? It is possible that you can't (since not all VPN concentrators work), but it is worth checking out. Alternately you can try setting the proper boot parameter in the right file:

http://developer.apple.com/library/mac/#documentation/Darwin/Reference/ManPages/man5/com.apple.Boot.plist.5.html

Note the 32 bit parameter later on in the document.

I wish the built-in would work but sadly no

I will take a look at that document.

Thanks