Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RootBeerSoup

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 1, 2011
I have been looking for a used laptop for about a month and I keep seeing Macbooks from 2006 up for sale.

My question is how do they hold up for five or more years, have you noticed any problems with them after a certain time frame?

I know that batteries tend to wear out after awhile, but I'm willing to replace that.

In addition, I am new to Mac's and would be using it primarily for college work. Things like browsing the web and typing papers are on that list.

Last edited:

dcorban

macrumors 6502a
Oct 29, 2007
With the release of Mac OS Lion, I would avoid anything earlier than the late-2008 models. The reason for this is that the earlier trackpads do not support the multi-touch gestures.

Also, MacBooks earlier than this run significantly more hot. Late-2008 and later have hardware acceleration for h.264 video and vastly superior, in performance and operating temperature, video chipsets.

In short, I feel you would be throwing your money away on a 2006 model. I suppose if it was $100-200, maybe, if you are desperate. Otherwise, just find a late-2008 for $500-700.

KPOM

macrumors P6
Oct 23, 2010
There's a 2006 MacBook in the family that's still holding up, but I agree with the other poster that the 2008 models would be better. Note that the 2006 MacBooks won't run Lion at all since they don't have Core 2 Duo processors (they have the 32-bit Core Duo, essentially a spruced up Pentium M). The 2007 Core 2 Duo MacBooks will technically run Lion, but barely.

Alternatively, now that the new Airs are out, you can probably find decent used 2010 MacBook Airs or even the 2009 models, which would handle Lion acceptably.

Young Spade

macrumors 68020
Mar 31, 2011
Tallahassee, Florida