PDA

View Full Version : Main HDD is RAIDED. I need Windows via Bootcamp still..? What to do?




Mythlin
Aug 2, 2011, 03:27 PM
Hello,
I have a 2008 Mac Pro and I have 4 500GB HDD's in a RAID 0 and that RAID 0 cluster is my boot drive for Lion. When trying to do an Bootcamp Partition, it says I cannot run the Bootcamp installer because of the RAID. I have a couple of IDE Drives and can put one of them in my Optical Drive Bay Area. Now, what I would like some help one is if, once the IDE Drive is installed. Can I make Bootcamp run off that IDE Drive and or can I skip Bootcamp all together and just boot off the IDE Drive and install it like that?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,
Mythlin
:apple:



getz76
Aug 2, 2011, 03:35 PM
Install the IDE drive, run the Bootcamp assistant, select the IDE drive, and go from there.

derbothaus
Aug 2, 2011, 03:41 PM
I was going to say just bypass Boot camp altogether. I never use it. Boot to Win disc and reformat target drive. Install better drivers and your good and not running graphic drivers released last year.

Mythlin
Aug 2, 2011, 04:42 PM
I was going to say just bypass Boot camp altogether. I never use it. Boot to Win disc and reformat target drive. Install better drivers and your good and not running graphic drivers released last year.

Sweet, will do! Thanks for the help!

Mythlin
Aug 2, 2011, 04:43 PM
Install the IDE drive, run the Bootcamp assistant, select the IDE drive, and go from there.

Hey, thanks for the help. I think I'm going to try just booting from the Windows Disc and see how that hoes, but, thanks again!

ActionableMango
Aug 2, 2011, 05:28 PM
Backup your OS X drive before installing Windows. Seriously.

derbothaus
Aug 2, 2011, 05:59 PM
You only NEED boot camp when you are partitioning a single disk. Since we have multiple bays...

Mythlin
Aug 2, 2011, 06:31 PM
Backup your OS X drive before installing Windows. Seriously.

Yeah, good idea. Haha, I did! Didn't want to take any chances!

ActionableMango
Aug 2, 2011, 07:59 PM
The word "Bootcamp" is used in all sort of interesting ways in this thread.

There is Bootcamp Assistant, which is an application in OS X that enables you to prep a hard drive for installing Windows. If you only have one hard drive, it partitions the drive and sets up the partition for the Windows installer.

If you have multiple drives, you don't need Bootcamp Assistant. Just pick the empty drive when installing Windows.

Many people complain that the Windows installer worked perfectly in installing Windows on the proper drive, but also made their OS X drive unbootable. I have personally experienced this myself. This is why I say make a backup. In subsequent Windows installations, I simply popped out the OS X drive during installation to ensure the Windows installer didn't mess with it.

There are also Bootcamp drivers for Windows. These are drivers that enable Windows to use your Mac hardware properly. They also provide a utility for selecting the boot disk if you want to reboot into OS X directly from Windows. After you install the Bootcamp drivers you should install the latest video drivers from the video card manufacturer.

derbothaus
Aug 3, 2011, 01:44 PM
Many people complain that the Windows installer worked perfectly in installing Windows on the proper drive, but also made their OS X drive unbootable. I have personally experienced this myself.

Weird. Never had this happen. But also I always have fresh backup's before I do pretty much anything on my gear.

goMac
Aug 3, 2011, 02:14 PM
(Snip!)

Nevermind!