Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Obsidiank

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2011
So like many of you I can’t decide if I should get a MBA. I have serious OCD so I can’t ever make decisions like this without going through 8 million scenarios. If I don’t buy the best machine for the price I want to pay and feel like I got a deal out of it, I freak the f out. So I decided to break this down into an experiment and do my best to figure out the best choice. I went out and bought everything. Here's my impressions. Feel free to follow along on my journey or stop reading now. It’s up to you but I would love to hear feedback, positive and negative.

What I do and what I have
I am a semi-pro photographer (weekend job) and a technology consultant (week day job) and I travel 95% of the time. I’m all about efficiency so I’m not the type who will spend 3K on a Mac Pro when a 1k MBP can do everything I need. My current setup is a 2010 MBP with 8GB ram hooked up to an ACD when I’m at home. I also have a HP Elitebook that’s my work laptop.

Why it works
  • ACD is gorgeous, no direct window light so no reflection problems.
  • MBP screen is perfectly calibrated to ACD and runs all my progs with memory to spare.
Why it doesn’t work
  • MBP is heavy and when added to my bag with HP and accessories turns my bag into a 15lb shoulder strain.
  • MBP 2010 is slow. Lightroom extract of 100 pictures takes approximately 5 minutes. CPU completely taxed and ram completely used up.
Thought process and 3 process scenarios
  • 11inch MBA replaces 13inch MBP
  • 13inch MBA replaces 13 inch MBP
  • 11inch or 13inch MBA and mac mini replaces 13inch MBP

Goal: Get everything that works, fix everything that doesn’t work, spend the least amount of money possible.

Scenario 1: 11inch MBA replaces 13 inch MBP
Total net cost is $400, $1200 (11inch MBA) - $800 (sold 13inch MBP)

Why it works
  • Lighter