PDA

View Full Version : Lion on Macbook 4.1




Daniel97
Aug 5, 2011, 09:02 AM
Will it work?

I only have 1GB of RAM in this atm - but if i upgrade to more would it work?



podsorcerer09
Aug 5, 2011, 09:05 AM
Will it work?

I only have 1GB of RAM in this atm - but if i upgrade to more would it work?

Yes, I had the GM installed on an 08 black macbook with 4 GB of RAM and it worked fine. You miss out on the gestures but everything should be smooth sailing if I remember. I got a new computer in between so I can't tell you about performance, but it looked fine when I did it. Upgrade your RAM even if you don't get Lion, you'll thank yourself later.

javier29m90
Aug 5, 2011, 09:10 AM
Will it work?

I only have 1GB of RAM in this atm - but if i upgrade to more would it work?

umm... are you too lazy for search in Apple official site or Google?

Daniel97
Aug 5, 2011, 09:13 AM
Yes, I had the GM installed on an 08 black macbook with 4 GB of RAM and it worked fine. You miss out on the gestures but everything should be smooth sailing if I remember. I got a new computer in between so I can't tell you about performance, but it looked fine when I did it. Upgrade your RAM even if you don't get Lion, you'll thank yourself later.

Thank you :) i did google it but wasnt 100% sure so wanted someone with experience to say!

- Just need to get her to buy some DDR2 RAM now!

Timtimtimtim
Jul 1, 2012, 06:01 PM
That has a 32bit processor, and will not run Lion as far as I know, Lion requires a 64 bit processor.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_OS_X_lion#Hardware_support

Drew017
Jul 1, 2012, 07:45 PM
That has a 32bit processor, and will not run Lion as far as I know, Lion requires a 64 bit processor.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_OS_X_lion#Hardware_support

The OP is referring to the 2008 MacBook (http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook/specs/macbook-core-2-duo-2.1-white-13-early-2008-penryn-specs.html), which has a Core 2 Duo processor (64 bit) and WILL run OS X Lion (which will run quite well when the RAM is upgraded to at least 4GB)

Jethryn Freyman
Jul 3, 2012, 09:13 PM
That has a 32bit processor, and will not run Lion as far as I know, Lion requires a 64 bit processor.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_OS_X_lion#Hardware_support
...why on earth did you bump an ancient thread only to post something totally wrong??

The 4,1 Macbook has a 64 bit Core 2 Duo processor. I have one, with Lion.