PDA

View Full Version : press key -> repeat character ... not working?




razoel123
Aug 5, 2011, 10:01 AM
as it says in the title, when i press a key, like 'a', my air does not repeat it automatically, i have to press the key again and again ... and again.

a picture of my keyboard preferences is attached. i am confused.



Lord Appleseed
Aug 5, 2011, 10:06 AM
as it says in the title, when i press a key, like 'a', my air does not repeat it automatically, i have to press the key again and again ... and again.

a picture of my keyboard preferences is attached. i am confused.

It's because of Lion. You cant change that.

KPOM
Aug 5, 2011, 10:09 AM
It's because of Lion. You cant change that.

I thought you could change it, but the default was to bring up the menu with the additional characters? This is probably a question for the Lion forum.

Lord Appleseed
Aug 5, 2011, 10:14 AM
I thought you could change it, but the default was to bring up the menu with the additional characters? This is probably a question for the Lion forum.

Thats above my knowledge then. I just remember long discussions and complains by users all over the Lion forum.

razoel123
Aug 5, 2011, 10:17 AM
It's because of Lion. You cant change that.

wow. then from now on it will either take forever to write loooooooooooooooooooooool or i use copy & paste. wtf.

Lord Appleseed
Aug 5, 2011, 10:22 AM
wow. then from now on it will either take forever to write loooooooooooooooooooooool or i use copy & paste. wtf.

It's unhealthy to "laugh out loud" for too long anyway. ;)

blueroom
Aug 5, 2011, 10:22 AM
Curious why you'd want your "a" or any other letter key to repeat?

MJedi
Aug 5, 2011, 10:25 AM
You CAN change it, but it requires entering a Terminal hack.

Launch Terminal and type (or copy/paste) the following:

defaults write -g ApplePressAndHoldEnabled -bool false

Source: http://www.tuaw.com/2011/07/26/hackinations-5-really-good-lion-tweaks/

Repeat wisely. ;)

Lord Appleseed
Aug 5, 2011, 10:25 AM
Curious why you'd want your "a" or any other letter key to repeat?

looooooool
FUUUUUU
Ooooooh
Nooooooo
Hellooooo
AAAAAH


http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_Z54-9jDLoAE/TO7PYUYKRMI/AAAAAAAAAKI/FxhpA41Ih_8/s1600/wryyy.gif
WRYYYYYYYY

interrobang
Aug 5, 2011, 10:31 AM
looooooool
FUUUUUU
Ooooooh
Nooooooo
Hellooooo
AAAAAH

WRYYYYYYYY

Thank you, Apple, for making it that much harder for people to type like this.

How about making the spelling and grammar checkers mandatory in 10.8? ;)

ormie
Aug 5, 2011, 10:32 AM
You could of course get this: text expander @ http://www.smilesoftware.com/TextExpander/index.html
And that would solve your problem!

blueroom
Aug 5, 2011, 10:36 AM
They should also limit the "." to three (an ellipsis).

Lord Appleseed
Aug 5, 2011, 10:37 AM
They should also limit the "." to three (an ellipsis).

But but but .................... :(

interrobang
Aug 5, 2011, 02:16 PM
They should also limit the "." to three (an ellipsis).
The elipsis is option-semicolon.

The Mac Is Not A Typewriter.

You do not make elipses out of periods/fullstops.