PDA

View Full Version : Shaggy Mac MBA Protector Issue

ghsNick
Aug 6, 2011, 12:03 AM
So I just got this (http://www.shaggymac.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=3_4&products_id=80) ShaggyMac screen protector for my new 11" MBA and the machine won't close all the way when using it.

I emailed them and want a refund...does anyone else have this problem with the new 11?

It's within 15 days so they better help me out returning this thing since it won't close with it in there.

thatdrewguy
Aug 6, 2011, 02:23 AM
Thanks for posting this as I was about to order it for my Air.

jpl6
Aug 6, 2011, 03:33 AM
Ouch, that sucks.

I got a Radtech one for my MBA 13 and it works great. No visible issue in closing the lid.

ghsNick
Aug 6, 2011, 11:08 AM
Yeah I contacted them and they're returning the order.
I'm a little bummed this wouldn't close with it in there...but I wasn't going to try and slam it down to make it.

robby818
Aug 6, 2011, 01:14 PM
I ordered the same product, and yes mine does not close all the way but I was just going to live with it.

BTW, I also have the one for the 13" air and it closes better. I think the 11" has tighter tolerances so anything thicker than a sheet of paper is probably going to cause a slight gap. The shaggymac is already very thin, not sure if it can be made any thinner.

thatdrewguy
Aug 6, 2011, 01:59 PM
I ordered the same product, and yes mine does not close all the way but I was just going to live with it.

If it is too thick I would be concerned about it always pressing down on the keys. Solve the problem of screen scratches, create a problem with the keyboard. I don't know if I'd risk it.

shstiger2009
Aug 6, 2011, 02:01 PM
Was looking at this as well...did you try pulling it away from the back of the laptop at all? To where it's not so up against where the screen and keyboard meet?

robby818
Aug 6, 2011, 03:16 PM