PDA

View Full Version : Paying for Apple Developer Licence.




iHutch105
Aug 8, 2011, 10:05 AM
Hey,

Just wondering about a payment method for the ADL. Can you pay using credit on your Apple ID? I got some free credit when I bought my Mac so it'd be nice if I could put it towards that. I'm not sure though, since it's not an App Store or iTunes/iBooks purchase. Any ideas?

Cheers



ViviUO
Aug 8, 2011, 02:03 PM
The transaction is actually done through apple's online store, so yeah, you just might be able to.

iHutch105
Aug 9, 2011, 02:26 AM
Cheers for the reply.

I'm actually going to wait until I've got something near ready for release (i.e. - just requires testing on the actual iPhone, rather than the emu) before I grab my licence. Seems a bit daft buying it sooner rather than later.

Thanks.

RodThePlod
Aug 10, 2011, 04:33 PM
I'm actually going to wait until I've got something near ready for release (i.e. - just requires testing on the actual iPhone, rather than the emu) before I grab my licence. Seems a bit daft buying it sooner rather than later.

But of course, the sooner you start testing on a real device, the better. The emulator is good an' all, but the more testing that can be done on device (or even better a variety of devices) the better.

Good luck!

RTP.

iHutch105
Aug 11, 2011, 05:51 AM
But of course, the sooner you start testing on a real device, the better. The emulator is good an' all, but the more testing that can be done on device (or even better a variety of devices) the better.

Good luck!

RTP.

You're absolutely right! :)

turbobass
Aug 12, 2011, 07:42 PM
But of course, the sooner you start testing on a real device, the better. The emulator is good an' all, but the more testing that can be done on device (or even better a variety of devices) the better.

Good luck!

RTP.
Can I ask -- is this because you might easily be overshooting your device memory limits for the heap if you are using the simulator, and find it all falling apart on the device later?

Or are there other issues with the simulator?

ChristianJapan
Aug 12, 2011, 07:46 PM
Can I ask -- is this because you might easily be overshooting your device memory limits for the heap if you are using the simulator, and find it all falling apart on the device later?

Or are there other issues with the simulator?

memory is one think which hit me on iPad1.

Another one are not all gestures are working well in simulator; you need a real device to really test it.
Also the real retina experience is different between simulator and device; at least for me.