PDA

View Full Version : Civilization IV or Rome total war type game on 2011 MacBook Air?




kindaclever1
Aug 9, 2011, 11:02 AM
OK so I am strongly considering a 11'' Air:apple:. I think it will be great for 90-95% of how I use a computer Web surfing, youtube videos and movies while on the go mainly. However I do enjoy a decent strategy game now and then like for example Civilization IV or Rome total war. So my question for you guy's is have you tried playing either of those title's on your Air's? How about a similar type game that you could recommend playing on the Air? Thanks for any help.:)



KnightWRX
Aug 9, 2011, 11:45 AM
Civilization IV runs flawlessly on my 2010 MBA at my external monitor's 2048x1152 resolution.

waltermitty
Aug 9, 2011, 11:47 AM
Civilization IV runs flawlessly on my 2010 MBA at my external monitor's 2048x1152 resolution.

Doesn't that model have a more powerful Nvidia graphics chip?

KnightWRX
Aug 9, 2011, 11:52 AM
Doesn't that model have a more powerful Nvidia graphics chip?

Civ IV isn't a particularly graphics intensive game. And if it runs at 2048x1152 on my nVidia GPU, it'll run fine at 1366x768 on the Intel GPU. ;)

kindaclever1
Aug 9, 2011, 12:01 PM
Thanks for the feedback guys. I am thinking Rome total war might be a bit of a stretch. I will be picking up my new Air next week.:D

KnightWRX
Aug 9, 2011, 12:06 PM
Thanks for the feedback guys. I am thinking Rome total war might be a bit of a stretch. I will be picking up my new Air next week.:D

If you plan on buying Civ IV, watch on Steam. I got the full pack (Civ IV + expansions + Colonization) for 5$ when it went on sale. It does so a few times per year. Otherwise, you're paying 20$ just for the vanilla game.

jclardy
Aug 9, 2011, 12:21 PM
Thanks for the feedback guys. I am thinking Rome total war might be a bit of a stretch. I will be picking up my new Air next week.:D

Actually, Rome Total War should be able to play quite well. It is a pretty old game, and the system requirements include a Pentium III (Ancient processor) 256MB of RAM (...) and a video card with 64MB of VRAM. The Air is well beyond that.

nph
Aug 9, 2011, 12:21 PM
I played Rome Total War on a Rev B MBA so I am sure it will work fine on a rev E!