PDA

View Full Version : New MBA 2011: Safari stutters on external monitor?




Spacemarine
Aug 10, 2011, 07:35 AM
Hi everyone,

I got the new MBA 2011, the smallest 11" with 2GB ram. My problem is: When I run safari maximized on my external monitor (Dell U2711, 2560x1440), scrolling stutters very much. This happens even on very simple websites without flash.

Is the MBA just too weak for that?



DustinT
Aug 10, 2011, 09:20 AM
2g ram isn't much... Personally, I'd exchange it for the 4g version. It will be much more useful now and in the future.

However, to answer your question about the scrolling issues online, I'd suggest you try another browser and see what happens. I wouldn't think you'd be having those issues, even with only 2g ram.

ZBoater
Aug 10, 2011, 09:35 AM
Hi everyone,

I got the new MBA 2011, the smallest 11" with 2GB ram. My problem is: When I run safari maximized on my external monitor (Dell U2711, 2560x1440), scrolling stutters very much. This happens even on very simple websites without flash.

Is the MBA just too weak for that?

What are you using to connect your Dell monitor to your MBA?

Spacemarine
Aug 10, 2011, 09:38 AM
What are you using to connect your Dell monitor to your MBA?

The only thing that makes sense, a mini-displayport to "normal"-displayport cable.

ZBoater
Aug 10, 2011, 09:46 AM
The only think that makes sense, a mini-displayport to "normal"-displayport cable.

I am not familiar with Dell's implementation of a display port connector, so I can't comment. I am wanting to connect my MBA to my 30" Dell 3007WFP but am wondering whether I need the powered adapter or not.

Good luck with finding a solution to your problem!

jace88
Aug 10, 2011, 09:47 AM
Not that I'm in the same situation, but I have a 2010 MBA 11" with 2gb of ram and find it's sufficient to drive a 24" LCD at 1920 x 1080. Yes it's not as high res as your Dell screen but considering this is the old CPU, I have no issues with surfing the net on both screens or using Chrome/iChat on the MBA with a standard definition DivX file playing on the external 24".

Spacemarine
Aug 10, 2011, 10:27 AM
I am wanting to connect my MBA to my 30" Dell 3007WFP but am wondering whether I need the powered adapter or not.

Since it doesen't have a displayport connector, the only possibility is to use the expensive powered adapter which supports dual-link dvi.

Stein357
Aug 10, 2011, 10:37 AM
Have you tried another monitor to see what happens?

alau0115
Aug 10, 2011, 11:12 AM
Since it doesen't have a displayport connector, the only possibility is to use the expensive powered adapter which supports dual-link dvi.

Or maybe do a search in monoprice.com. They have a great selection of adapters/cables at a very cheap price.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/search.asp?keyword=displayport&x=0&y=0

This is what I have been using for my MBA/MBP:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10428&cs_id=1042803&p_id=5714&seq=1&format=2

It has been solid performance with strong construction. The downside of putting adapters/connecter in a row (in my case, miniDP-DP adapter +DP connecter) is the physical connection can be loose at time due to the heaviness and the total length of the "converted connector".

rabid snake
Aug 10, 2011, 01:00 PM
Hi everyone,

I got the new MBA 2011, the smallest 11" with 2GB ram. My problem is: When I run safari maximized on my external monitor (Dell U2711, 2560x1440), scrolling stutters very much. This happens even on very simple websites without flash.

Is the MBA just too weak for that?

It's because your MBA is running 2GB of ram. It's memory swapping with the SSD. If you just got it recently, trade it in with a model with 4GB of Ram.

Spacemarine
Aug 11, 2011, 10:14 AM
It's because your MBA is running 2GB of ram.

There is no swapping during scrolling. If that were the case, it would also swap during scrolling with a smaller window. The stutter would also depend heavily on the ram usage and the number of open applications.

Since this is not the case, ram size doesen't have anything to do with stuttering during scrolling.

Or do you have anything to back up your theory?

jsolares
Aug 11, 2011, 11:05 AM
How much memory does the HD3000 (graphics) show in system info? i'm not sure how true it is but i read that the 2GB model uses 256MB and the 4GB 384MB

Spacemarine
Aug 14, 2011, 03:08 PM
I just tried it with Firefox 6. Although there is still some stuttering on my external monitor, it's MUCH more smooth compared to safari.

When scrolling, both Firefox and Safari use about the same total CPU, both are are near where the limit. That's very strange.

I also checked the system monitor, there is absolutely no swapping during scrolling.

The HD3000 seems to get 288 MB of Vram according to system info, although I don't know what this has to to with my problem....