PDA

View Full Version : Mac server raid help




kittenmilk
Aug 10, 2011, 09:53 PM
I saved a mac server and 7tb raid from the trash. when i run a single fibre cable from the raid to the server, and i access the raid through disk utility (in os x 10.4.2) it says there is only 2.7tb. I realize I'm only accessing half the array but shouldn't I see 3.5tb? what am i doing wrong, i have green lights across the board, does that indicate all drives are working properly?



kittenmilk
Aug 10, 2011, 10:23 PM
it is 14 x 500GB RAID

Abacab
Aug 12, 2011, 07:05 AM
First, I presume the machine you are hooking it up to has a Fiber card installed? If it's like the Promise I have there should be two connections on the back of the raid, (Dual Channel) You then have to use the fiber utility to format.
I'd like to find trash like that!