PDA

View Full Version : Blu-ray rip app for PowerPC??




Nova77
Aug 11, 2011, 02:58 PM
Hi, anyone knows an app that can rip blu-ray movies?

1. I know I need a blu-ray drive... no obvious comments please...
2. Don't tell me it is impossible, because I know one app that does exaclty that
---> Do you know another app than aisee soft 's blu-ray ripper for mac, its the only one I've found atm.
3. I couldn't care less if it took hours to rip a single blu-ray on my dual G4, just let it run overnight...

Thanks



zen.state
Aug 11, 2011, 03:03 PM
Hi, anyone knows an app that can rip blu-ray discs?

1. I know I need a blu-ray drive... no obvious comments please...
2. Don't tell me it is impossible, because I know one app that does exaclty that
---> Do you know another app than *********'s blu-ray ripper for mac, its the only one I've found atm.
3. I couldn't care less if it took hours to rip a single blu-ray on my dual G4, just let it run overnight...

Thanks

Handbrake is the champion of all rippers on any OS.

This is a direct link to download the last version to support PowerPC:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/handbrake/files/0.9.4/HandBrake-0.9.4-MacOSX.5_GUI_ppc.dmg/download

Heavertron
Aug 11, 2011, 03:09 PM
Handbrake is the champion of all rippers on any OS.

This is a direct link to download the last version to support PowerPC:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/handbrake/files/0.9.4/HandBrake-0.9.4-MacOSX.5_GUI_ppc.dmg/download

I found that this version didn't run. It kept saying "VLC not installed" or words to that effect. I had to go back to 0.9.3 for it to work.

zen.state
Aug 11, 2011, 03:15 PM
I use 0.9.3 also. Never actually tried 0.9.4 but it is the final PowerPC build. I can give you 0.9.3 if you need it, Nova. It works 100%.

Didn't see anything older than 0.9.4 on the site.

maril1111
Aug 11, 2011, 03:16 PM
I found that this version didn't run. It kept saying "VLC not installed" or words to that effect. I had to go back to 0.9.3 for it to work.

Simple question but did you have vlc installed? Because Handbrake uses some of VLc's codecs to decode certain file types or so i heard

AdrianK
Aug 11, 2011, 03:22 PM
So, do you want a straight-up 1:1 copy or do you want to encode the file?

Unfortunately 'overnight' is a massive understatement if you want to encode, 48 hours is probably around what you're looking at for 720p.

bizzle
Aug 11, 2011, 03:25 PM
3. I couldn't care less if it took hours to rip a single blu-ray on my dual G4, just let it run overnight...

Hours? I think you mean days.

Heavertron
Aug 11, 2011, 03:27 PM
Simple question but did you have vlc installed? Because Handbrake uses some of VLc's codecs to decode certain file types or so i heard

Shame on you :eek:

Of course VLC was installed. That's why 0.9.3 worked perfectly.

zen.state
Aug 11, 2011, 03:33 PM
So, do you want a straight-up 1:1 copy or do you want to encode the file?

Unfortunately 'overnight' is a massive understatement if you want to encode, 48 hours is probably around what you're looking at for 720p.

So rather than answer his question you just correct his time assumption. In many of your posts overtime I have noticed that you really just don't get PowerPC and what can still be done with them.

Corrections don't answer his question. Is it because you have no answer?

Nova77
Aug 11, 2011, 03:54 PM
So, do you want a straight-up 1:1 copy or do you want to encode the file?

Unfortunately 'overnight' is a massive understatement if you want to encode, 48 hours is probably around what you're looking at for 720p.

We shall see if it takes that much time... powerpcs are underestimated these days...

Well what I'm looking for is rip the blu-ray, put it on hard drive and watch it. I don't want to encode it to a lower res at all, 1080 is what I'm looking for. So yeah, 1:1 copy if possible, or maybe change only the sound codec.

Btw I never heard handbrake had blu-ray support back in that time, can any1 confirm if it works?

zen.state
Aug 11, 2011, 03:57 PM
My G4 1.8GHz can rip a 1080p h.264 film in about 21 hours.

AdrianK
Aug 11, 2011, 04:03 PM
So rather than answer his question you just correct his time assumption. In many of your posts overtime I have noticed that you really just don't get PowerPC and what can still be done with them.

Corrections don't answer his question. Is it because you have no answer?

No I didn't just correct his/her assumption, I asked a valid question so we could give relevant answers. I'm not sure why I'm being attacked for trying to work towards a resolution *shrug*.

It's relevant information, if the OP's G4 is their only computer then their CPU could be tied up even when they wake up the next morning and go to use their computer. That could make going this route completely unfeasible.

It was never intended to be a middle finger to the PPC platform, I know what it's capable of and it's limitations. There was no offence intended.

My G4 1.8GHz can rip a 1080p h.264 film in about 21 hours.

From what source?


We shall see if it takes that much time... powerpcs are underestimated these days...

Well what I'm looking for is rip the blu-ray, put it on hard drive and watch it. I don't want to encode it to a lower res at all, 1080 is what I'm looking for. So yeah, 1:1 copy if possible, or maybe change only the sound codec.

Btw I never heard handbrake had blu-ray support back in that time, can any1 confirm if it works?

Most blurays have a lossy option in the form a Dolby Digital or DTS Core track (embedded in DTS-HD MA) if that's what you're concerned about. VLC has full support for those codecs.

Bluray support for HB is kind of a mute point if you can find a way to decrypt and dump the m2ts files from the disk, because then it's just like any other file.

Nova77
Aug 11, 2011, 04:03 PM
My G4 1.8GHz can rip a 1080p h.264 film in about 21 hours.

Is the graphics card of any help? I'll be using a dual 1.42 G4 with a Geforce 7800 GS 256 mb

Nova77
Aug 11, 2011, 04:05 PM
No I didn't just correct his/her assumption, I asked a valid question so we could give relevant answers. I'm not sure why I'm being attacked for trying to work towards a resolution *shrug*.

It's relevant information, if the OP's G4 is their only computer then their CPU could be tied up even when they wake up the next morning and go to use their computer. That could make going this route completely unfeasible.

It was never intended to be a middle finger to the PPC platform, I know what it's capable of and it's limitations. There was no offence intended. I'm not sure which posts you're on about either.



From what source?


Other than that G4 desktop, I have a laptop.

Now can we get back to the topic everyone?

Nova77
Aug 11, 2011, 04:06 PM
We shall see if it takes that much time... powerpcs are underestimated these days...

Well what I'm looking for is rip the blu-ray, put it on hard drive and watch it. I don't want to encode it to a lower res at all, 1080 is what I'm looking for. So yeah, 1:1 copy if possible, or maybe change only the sound codec.

Btw I never heard handbrake had blu-ray support back in that time, can any1 confirm if it works?

Can someone answer this please?

AdrianK
Aug 11, 2011, 04:34 PM
Can someone answer this please?

To be completely honest, it does not appear that there is a way. Of the utilities that can decrypt BDs, MakeMKV appears to be the only one for OS X and it's x86 only. The problem is that there's so much software claiming to be 'blurry decryptors' but they're really just commercial GUIs for open source encoders, it's really hard to wade through the crap. :( If there was such a tool, I'm sure it would be pretty easy to find.

There's a large thread on Blurays and OS X here (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=541517), but there's no mention of PPC software for decrypting.

Besides, I don't see how you'll be able to decode blurays on your G4. Core player can do wonders (assuming the performance gain is equivalent to CoreAVC + MPC on windows), but I still don't think that will be enough for ~20mbit AVC/VC1 to play smoothly. Of course you could just encode to get around that problem, but it is a lengthy process.

adcx64
Aug 11, 2011, 04:51 PM
My G4 1.8GHz can rip a 1080p h.264 film in about 21 hours.

Only 21 hours? :p

zen.state
Aug 11, 2011, 06:37 PM
From what source?

Bluray iso image

AdrianK
Aug 11, 2011, 07:07 PM
Bluray iso image
Did you two pass encode?

zen.state
Aug 11, 2011, 07:24 PM
Did you two pass encode?

Just one. Can we please stop dominating nova's thread now?

zen.state
Aug 12, 2011, 04:42 AM
Is the graphics card of any help? I'll be using a dual 1.42 G4 with a Geforce 7800 GS 256 mb

Missed this post earlier.

The answer is no. There is no GPU code in Handbrake at all. It's totally reliant on the CPU. A dual 1.42 will do a decent job and crunching big files is where the L3 cache it has will really help out.

Nova77
Aug 13, 2011, 08:50 PM
hmmm well any1 knows about the app called "blu-ray ripper for mac" by Aiseesoƒt? I would like to know if some1 tried it. They say it requires a ppc G4 or G5 or an intel mac. However the free download link was intel only... weird... I'm waiting for a response from them.

By the way, if I manage to find a good way to rip blu-rays, I should be able to play just about anything I can throw at my G4's video player. Just added in a 7800 GS video card and performance is really great.

focused13
May 1, 2012, 11:46 AM
a-i-s-e-e-s-o-f-t Blu-ray ripper (there arent any hyphens in the name, but it wouldnt let me post if without them)

http://www.*********.com/blu-ray-ripper.html

does a fantastic job of handling blu-rays. Copy the entire contents of the disk to your hard drive. (Allow adequate space, typical feature length films typically range anywhere from 30-50 Gb) Click the load blu-ray folder tab at the top, allow it to load the different segments, select the ones desired and then choose your codec. I've found that using the PS3 H.264 HD Video (1080p)(.mp4) gives what seems to be the best results. It looks VERY close, ALMOST indistinguishable from the original. The compression makes the final file about 1/10th the original file size. So 47Gb is now roughly 4.7Gb using a 1080p resolution and master DTS 6ch audio track. Unless you have fields of terabytes or only a handful (3-5) of blu-rays you want to store, keeping the movie at its original file size is some what wasteful. Obviously we all want our movies to look pristine, but at what cost does this become a secondary concern if we're only able to keep a few them at our disposal. I watch my movies on a 55" Vizio Razr running through an Onkyo 9400thx and can never manage to stop smiling when a movie is done converting because they look amazing. My HP dv-6 laptop can usually copy the movie to my hard drive in about an hour and do a complete conversion to the aforementioned format in about 12 hours, 15 if I'm using SolidWorks and have numerous tabs open. There is some what of a speed decrease while its converting, but for me it seems to be minimal and still allows me to use the computer as normal. If you need all of your processors power, the pause button for the conversion handles the need quite well. Just my two cents.

craigsharp
May 1, 2012, 01:01 PM
a-i-s-e-e-s-o-f-t Blu-ray ripper (there arent any hyphens in the name, but it wouldnt let me post if without them)

http://www.*********.com/blu-ray-ripper.html

does a fantastic job of handling blu-rays. Copy the entire contents of the disk to your hard drive. (Allow adequate space, typical feature length films typically range anywhere from 30-50 Gb) Click the load blu-ray folder tab at the top, allow it to load the different segments, select the ones desired and then choose your codec. I've found that using the PS3 H.264 HD Video (1080p)(.mp4) gives what seems to be the best results. It looks VERY close, ALMOST indistinguishable from the original. The compression makes the final file about 1/10th the original file size. So 47Gb is now roughly 4.7Gb using a 1080p resolution and master DTS 6ch audio track. Unless you have fields of terabytes or only a handful (3-5) of blu-rays you want to store, keeping the movie at its original file size is some what wasteful. Obviously we all want our movies to look pristine, but at what cost does this become a secondary concern if we're only able to keep a few them at our disposal. I watch my movies on a 55" Vizio Razr running through an Onkyo 9400thx and can never manage to stop smiling when a movie is done converting because they look amazing. My HP dv-6 laptop can usually copy the movie to my hard drive in about an hour and do a complete conversion to the aforementioned format in about 12 hours, 15 if I'm using SolidWorks and have numerous tabs open. There is some what of a speed decrease while its converting, but for me it seems to be minimal and still allows me to use the computer as normal. If you need all of your processors power, the pause button for the conversion handles the need quite well. Just my two cents.



Wow dude!!! Really? Way to read the thread!!! Nowhere did the OP say he had an intel mac, but instead has a G4 which the software you advertised does not work for.

Starfighter
May 1, 2012, 01:48 PM
A first poster on top of that. Seems a little fishy if you ask me... But please don't because I don't want to speculate. ;)

I have a question regarding the subject in the thread: Is there a ripper in league with Handbrake that doesn't require VLC? I have VLC myself so I'm not stubborn that way, I'm just curious.