PDA

View Full Version : Adding Synology NAS to wireless setup




lowonthe456
Aug 11, 2011, 06:30 PM
I am looking in to the Synology D11j to my setup to keep my itunes on so that I don't run out of space on my MBP. I was thinking of doing one of these for itunes and Time Machine but I see it doesnt have wireless. My whole setup is basically a MBP (2011 13") an ATV2 and a wireless router Airport Express N). For 200 + drives I'm wondering if I should switch to an AEX + USB external or cheap out and get a 750gb internal for the MBP.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Money is a concern but I'm looking for long(er) term solutions too



WiiDSmoker
Aug 11, 2011, 10:04 PM
Synology makes great NAS'. You'll enjoy it.

Broken Hearted
Aug 11, 2011, 10:32 PM
Sell the Airport Express, buy the Airport base station and run the Nas off of it.

blueroom
Aug 11, 2011, 10:34 PM
You need a proper router, the WNDR3700 plays nice with Synology & OSX.

GTJ
Aug 12, 2011, 02:42 AM
I bought a 211j a couple weeks ago and it was one of the best purchases I've made in ages. Streams all my iTunes library to everyone in the house. Stores and backs up all my plex library. Wirelesss printing, time machine. Plus I can access my music/photos on my iPad/phone without a computer on. I also got a great app call synods which lets my send torrents and any other download material directly to the NAS.

an-other
Aug 12, 2011, 07:14 AM
I'm running a 1511+ from an Airport to Airport to Apple TV, and everything works seamlessly.

There are cheaper routers than an Airport for sure. However, there's nothing easier to configure than an Airport within the Apple eco-system. I'll gladly pay the premium for ease of use (and confidence everthing is optimised.)

I was on the fence obsessing 6 - 12 months about a NAS. Settled on Synology, and couldn't be happier. It's an awesome rig, and the IOS mobile apps are fantastic.

lowonthe456
Aug 12, 2011, 10:54 AM
Sell the Airport Express, buy the Airport base station and run the Nas off of it.

OK, so ethernet or USB the NAS from the AEX? What if I don't have an AEX, plug in into the router right?

I want everything wireless if possible.

IS it possible to ethernet/USB it to the AEX AND the ATV2?so it would have a wired connection to the ATV2...