Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GreeneGirl7

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 10, 2005
Oxford, England
I recently bought an iBook. I also bought an iSkin to protect the keypad. I saw on the Apple site that you're not supposed to put anything over the keypad while the iBook is closed. Is the iSkin going to cause my iBook to cycle on and off or to overheat? Or is it light and thin enough to not matter? Thanks for any input.

mcgarry

macrumors 6502a
Oct 19, 2004
I don't think you have to worry, but I have no special knowledge. I thought the restriction was against operating an iBook while closed, in so-called "full clamshell" mode.

By the way, can you post the link to what you saw on the Apple site? thanks

mcgarry

macrumors 6502a
Oct 19, 2004
Interesting:

Never place anything over your keyboard before closing the display. This can cause your computer to cycle on and off which may create excessive heat and drain your battery.

So, I guess Apple says don't.

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
GreeneGirl7 said:
I recently bought an iBook. I also bought an iSkin to protect the keypad. I saw on the Apple site that you're not supposed to put anything over the keypad while the iBook is closed. Is the iSkin going to cause my iBook to cycle on and off or to overheat? Or is it light and thin enough to not matter? Thanks for any input.

I think the concerns when the iBook are closed are more smudging the screen and/or putting pressure on it. I close my iBook all the time with the iSkin in it. It does sometimes smudge the screen. These smudges come off easily with water, as long as you don't let them accumulate too long between cleanings.

With respect to cycling and heating, the computer is already asleep, in the case of the iBook, when it's closed. I'm not sure why there would be issues....

Artful Dodger

macrumors 68020