PDA

View Full Version : MacMall's "in stock" 17" iMacs


chicagdan
Sep 30, 2002, 04:27 PM
MacMall has a funny way of definining in stock. I ordered a 17" iMac from them Saturday with two-day shipping. I just tracked the shipment and it's in Anchorage. Sounds like a direct from the Apple factory order to me. How does MacMall get away with charging for RAM installation labor when they never touch the machine? And how is my computer going to clear customs and get from Anchorage to Chicago in time? Doesn't it have to go through Memphis first?

By the way, I got all excited when FedEx arrived this morning with a package from MacMall ... turned out it was just the AppleCare warranty box. D'Oh!!!

Backtothemac
Sep 30, 2002, 04:39 PM
Well, when I say in stock, it is in stock. We don't charge for memory installs, and when it is not in stock, it is BTO ;)

RBMaraman
Sep 30, 2002, 10:19 PM
Originally posted by chicagdan
And how is my computer going to clear customs and get from Anchorage to Chicago in time?

Clear customs?!? In case you didn't realize, Anchorage is in Alaska. Alaska is on of the 50 United States. So, it won't have to go through customs. It will fly from Anchorage to the Fed Ex sorting facility in Chicago, and then to you.