Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mohmandm

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 9, 2004
east lansing
I am an amateur photographer at best. I am taking a trip to Greece starting September 1st and will be gone for two weeks. I have a Canon t2i, 50mm 1.8 canon lens, borrowing a Tamron 17-55(?) mm lens, also have a 55-250mm 4-5.6 lens. I will primarily be looking to shoot landscape photos. I have a couple of filters like polarized and ND. I also have two memory cards, two batteries and a cheap mini-tripod that is easily transported.

What I am looking for from you guys:

-Basic tips on shooting landscape photos
-Any equipment that would be a good idea to bring
-What lenses to use when

I realize you can only give me so much info in a forum but any help will be greatly appreciated!

Regards,

VirtualRain

macrumors 603
Aug 1, 2008
Vancouver, BC
I'm not sure what you mean by a mini-tripod... but you may want to ensure it's sturdy and practical enough for taking some long exposure shots with your camera/lens attached. This is perhaps one of the most important pieces of your kit and will really open up possibilities for evening shots where longer shutter speeds are required.

Other than that, all the regular recommendations apply... golden hour, rule of thirds, waiting for good light, trying to capture things from unconventional angles or vantage points, etc.

For Greece, I imagine that renting a boat to get interesting vantage points of the coastal towns/islands from a distance might be worth while.

That's all that comes to mind immediately.

jackerin

macrumors 6502a
Jun 29, 2008
Finland
I have a couple of filters like polarized and ND.