Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jwc6160

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 17, 2011
I am a Mac newbie (and computer DA) so I apologize if these are stupid questions. Since I upgraded to Lion they obviously added the All My Files folder in Finder. The only thing that shows up are random photos that just say they are Jpeg images, some files that say pkginfo in Simple Format, and a bunch of things called fidir.txt files. When I open up the jpegs, they open in preview not iPhoto, and the other files are gibberish. The jpegs are photos I have taken and are also in iPhoto.

My questions -

Why are these the only files showing up?
If I delete them, what happens?
If I delete the photos, will the same photo in iPhoto delete?
What are these weird fidir.txt and pkginfo files?

Honestly, it isn't a big deal as I don't use the finder much. I don't have a lot of files and go directly to iPhoto or applications or wherever. I am more curious than anything as to why these files show up there and what exactly they are. I guess I assumed that "All my files" meant All my files.

Thanks

mrapplegate

macrumors 68030
Feb 26, 2011
Cincinnati, OH
I am a Mac newbie (and computer DA) so I apologize if these are stupid questions. Since I upgraded to Lion they obviously added the All My Files folder in Finder. The only thing that shows up are random photos that just say they are Jpeg images, some files that say pkginfo in Simple Format, and a bunch of things called fidir.txt files. When I open up the jpegs, they open in preview not iPhoto, and the other files are gibberish. The jpegs are photos I have taken and are also in iPhoto.

My questions -

Why are these the only files showing up?
If I delete them, what happens?
If I delete the photos, will the same photo in iPhoto delete?
What are these weird fidir.txt and pkginfo files?