Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

john_satc

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 14, 2005
B'ham Uk
Just ordered Tiger (after arguing with the sales guy, he wanted to charge me full price 'cos I am not 18 and not elligable for student discount but i am like - 'i am in college! im a student!' won him over in the end :D )

Anyway, i just have qa quick question to ask about installing it, as I dont want my question to get lost in the pile of question that will come on 29th when everyone installs and have a quesy of their own!

First, I want to do a clean install of Tiger on my iBook (about 3 months old) what do i need to do before installing - like repair permisssions etc.

Second, can you but external hard drives from the Apple Store (plan to get one on the 29th when Bull Ring store opens)

Thid, what should I do once I have installed Tiger? Such as repair permissons etc ??

Thanks loads - John

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
john_satc said:
First, I want to do a clean install of Tiger on my iBook (about 3 months old) what do i need to do before installing - like repair permisssions etc.

If you want to do a truly clean install, in the Windows world sense, where you format / erase the HD, then *nothing*. What's the point in repairing the permissions of files you're about to delete? When you install, you'll be booting off the cd anyway, so any issues with those files will not impact your install. You will get the options of how you want to erase the drive, etc, when you boot off the Tiger CD.

Second, can you but external hard drives from the Apple Store (plan to get one on the 29th when Bull Ring store opens)

I don't remember seeing any in the Apple stores I've been to, but not sure.

Third, what should I do once I have installed Tiger? Such as repair permissions etc ??