PDA

View Full Version : Any way to fix this photo?

SB123
Aug 19, 2011, 04:08 PM
I got to the field just as my son was up and I snapped a quick pic. Only then did I realize the settings were off. Is there anyway to improve the photo? I have little experience with Photoshop, but can learn if someone points me in the right direction. Or should I just delete it???

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6073/6060312168_4224374ce5_b.jpg

cdustybk
Aug 19, 2011, 04:11 PM
Just to be on the safe side, do you mind if I download it to see what I can do?
I use GIMP, which is similar to Photoshop, so my instructions may be slightly different, but would have the same concept...

cdustybk
Aug 19, 2011, 04:27 PM
The big problem I can see just by looking at the picture is the poor lil guy's legs are washed out with the dirt. You can make the picture look MUCH better by changing a few settings, but his legs will blend in with the background unless you're pretty good at Photoshop.

I can post instructions on a similar photo if you'd like. Or I can attempt to work with this one, but I already see what's going to happen.

Just let me know!

SB123
Aug 19, 2011, 05:58 PM
whatever you guys need to do is fine with me...and appreciated.

fitshaced
Aug 19, 2011, 06:09 PM
You could adjust the exposure compensation a notch or two to see what detail you gained on the overexposed areas. Most likely there will still be very little contrast but should help.

The Mad Kiwi
Aug 19, 2011, 06:14 PM
Just delete it.

mtbdudex
Aug 19, 2011, 08:22 PM
Bad news;
Your pict is so blown out, nothing to recover.

You posted this as a jpg, did you shoot in RAW or jpeg?
If RAW, then export as TIFF and re-post link to a 2048pix TIFF, might contain more data there...

I have in Aperture 3 show hot/cold spots, see all that RED?
Blown highlights from overexposure
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-aEL-siKA4Bc/Tk8LlrlAoeI/AAAAAAAANo8/dgSS_fKcZBs/s1024/PictFix1.jpg