Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Astyl

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 21, 2005
Does anyone have any experience of using an IRISPEN handheld text-scanner with their Mac? I'm thinking of purchasing one to save time on re-typing large chunks of text from a variety of sources.

I need some reassurance before committing as reviews on the Web are fairly patchy. If anyone has an IRISPEN that is up and running and is happy with what it does – I'd like to hear it about it.

Thanks in advance.

RichardMacMan

macrumors newbie
Jun 22, 2010
Hi Astyl,

I don't know if this is still relevant to you 5 years later lol but I have a MacBook Pro and I have recently purchased the IRISPen Express 6. This works very well on my Mac and has come handy as I am a law student, so there is a lot of books that I can just scan into the computer instead of entering it manually. Of course there are a few errors here and there, but most times it is with 100% accuracy. I did a bit of research of course before I bought the Pen, and there are basically three of these pens. The express, executive and the translator. The translator is the only pen that will not work with Mac. So express and executive both work with Mac. I good site I found off google gives a good review of these 3 pens http://www.irispenscanner.com

Regards,

Richard

macgrl

macrumors 65816
Jul 17, 2008
It may not be helpful for them but your post is helpful for me. Which version of the pen do you have. I am looking at getting one and there seem to be many different versions express, express 6, executive etc. What is the difference and which do you have?

Many thanks:)

RichardMacMan

macrumors newbie
Jun 22, 2010