PDA

View Full Version : Final Cut Pro 7 on a PowerMac G5 Quad?




MrJonnyJones
Aug 26, 2011, 07:36 AM
Hi people, apologies if this has been covered previously (I searched but couldn't see anything)...

Is there any way to install Final Cut Pro 7 on 10.5.8 running on my PowerMac G5 Quad? LOTS of forums have said "No, impossible"... BUT, there are a handful of YouTube videos showing FCP7 quite clearly running on PPC Macs on lower specs than my G5 Quad. I have contacted the video authors but they were very vague and ended up not sharing any information at all!

Any help would be much appreciated! :)



chrismacguy
Aug 26, 2011, 11:26 AM
Hi people, apologies if this has been covered previously (I searched but couldn't see anything)...

Is there any way to install Final Cut Pro 7 on 10.5.8 running on my PowerMac G5 Quad? LOTS of forums have said "No, impossible"... BUT, there are a handful of YouTube videos showing FCP7 quite clearly running on PPC Macs on lower specs than my G5 Quad. I have contacted the video authors but they were very vague and ended up not sharing any information at all!

Any help would be much appreciated! :)

While this is possible, it is a very involved process and is ridiculously painful. From what I remember you have to open the Installer files with a Program called Pacifist, and then manually "install" Final Cut Studio. IIRC it requires a Dual 2.0 G5 or above (which you obviously have). I dont think the actual process was ever detailed in depth, and sadly I dont have my Dual 2.3Ghz G5 to hand anymore so I cant provide more detailed instructions.

rnitch
Mar 27, 2012, 01:08 PM
First off installing through pacifist is NOT the way to go. that way may result in corrupt files, or simply missing components. It will also require you to enter your serial number every time you open up the program which would be a pain in the @$$. I wrote up a write up on reddit if you wanna read it and upvote it :D or u can simply read it below. http://www.reddit.com/r/apple/comments/r2z3f/final_cut_pro_7_on_a_g5_or_any_apple_computer/

Anybody ever want to install Final Cut Pro 7 but you system does not meet the required specs? I can solve that problem for you Maybe you still run a G5 or your macbook laptop doesn't have enough video ram Either way it is possible to install FCP7 A warning on the side of the video ram on laptops is that it could possibly overheat so its all at your own risk as far as G5s go, ppc was originally fully supported by the app regardless of what anyone will tell you. Tell them that they are free to believe whatever they want. Ok here is how you do it:
1. First you have to get your Final cut 7 install disc, and use Application>Disc Utility to make the files writable
2. next step is to right click on your install final cut studio file, and click show original
3. Then you must right click on the FinalCutStudio.mpkg file and click show package contents
4. click the contents folder right click on FinalCutStudio.dist and open it with textedit (you could also open in Xcode but most people don't have that)
5. use command F to find the first piece of code starting with "<installation" (obviously search the code without the brackets) it should say installation = blah blah blah Just delete that one line and then save the file
6. exit out of everything and go back to you original install final cut studio file
7. Open the file and it should install on a G5 fine
You could also use this to bypass ANY kind of system requirement check that it gives you an error for.
USE AT YOUR OWN RISK- also not all features may work have fun- Mitch The End

macca1980
Aug 1, 2013, 03:51 AM
First off installing through pacifist is NOT the way to go. that way may result in corrupt files, or simply missing components. It will also require you to enter your serial number every time you open up the program which would be a pain in the @$$. I wrote up a write up on reddit if you wanna read it and upvote it :D or u can simply read it below. http://www.reddit.com/r/apple/comments/r2z3f/final_cut_pro_7_on_a_g5_or_any_apple_computer/

Anybody ever want to install Final Cut Pro 7 but you system does not meet the required specs? I can solve that problem for you Maybe you still run a G5 or your macbook laptop doesn't have enough video ram Either way it is possible to install FCP7 A warning on the side of the video ram on laptops is that it could possibly overheat so its all at your own risk as far as G5s go, ppc was originally fully supported by the app regardless of what anyone will tell you. Tell them that they are free to believe whatever they want. Ok here is how you do it:
1. First you have to get your Final cut 7 install disc, and use Application>Disc Utility to make the files writable
2. next step is to right click on your install final cut studio file, and click show original
3. Then you must right click on the FinalCutStudio.mpkg file and click show package contents
4. click the contents folder right click on FinalCutStudio.dist and open it with textedit (you could also open in Xcode but most people don't have that)
5. use command F to find the first piece of code starting with "<installation" (obviously search the code without the brackets) it should say installation = blah blah blah Just delete that one line and then save the file
6. exit out of everything and go back to you original install final cut studio file
7. Open the file and it should install on a G5 fine
You could also use this to bypass ANY kind of system requirement check that it gives you an error for.
USE AT YOUR OWN RISK- also not all features may work have fun- Mitch The End

I cant seem to do this. How do you make files writable in disk utility?
I managed to copy the files to hard drive & edit the file mentioned, but when I run installer it says javascript error.

macca1980
Aug 1, 2013, 08:59 AM
I cant seem to do this. How do you make files writable in disk utility?
I managed to copy the files to hard drive & edit the file mentioned, but when I run installer it says javascript error.

Ok I managed. What part of the code specifically do you remove??

Goftrey
Aug 1, 2013, 10:25 AM
Ok I managed. What part of the code specifically do you remove??

The bloke hasn't logged in since March 2012 so don't get your hopes up mate.

macca1980
Aug 1, 2013, 10:27 AM
The bloke hasn't logged in since March 2012 so don't get your hopes up mate.

I know , can't find it anywhere specifically what code you omit. It's all pretty vague. Anytime I remove what I assume they are talking about I get a javascript error.

rabidz7
Aug 1, 2013, 01:17 PM
The bloke hasn't logged in since March 2012 so don't get your hopes up mate.

Australian?

Intell
Aug 1, 2013, 02:06 PM
Australian?

UK, don't assume so much.

AdrianK
Aug 1, 2013, 02:13 PM
Ok I managed. What part of the code specifically do you remove??
Why not paste your file here (in [ code ] tags) so we can have a look at it?

Goftrey
Aug 1, 2013, 03:18 PM
Australian?

Welsh. And no, I don't shag sheep or drink earl grey tea tea with the queen either.

macca1980
Aug 1, 2013, 04:04 PM
I opened thread here http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1617186

rnitch
Nov 16, 2013, 06:36 PM
sorry guys just came across this now. i will try and get the FinalCutStudio.dist off my computer and upload it tonight if anyone is still interested. completely forgot about this thread

cullingham
Nov 24, 2013, 01:11 AM
Hi buddy, any chance you can upload revised
FinalCutStudio.dist on here. I need it desperately.

6100
May 14, 2014, 10:11 PM
First off installing through pacifist is NOT the way to go. that way may result in corrupt files, or simply missing components. It will also require you to enter your serial number every time you open up the program which would be a pain in the @$$. I wrote up a write up on reddit if you wanna read it and upvote it :D or u can simply read it below. http://www.reddit.com/r/apple/comments/r2z3f/final_cut_pro_7_on_a_g5_or_any_apple_computer/

Anybody ever want to install Final Cut Pro 7 but you system does not meet the required specs? I can solve that problem for you Maybe you still run a G5 or your macbook laptop doesn't have enough video ram Either way it is possible to install FCP7 A warning on the side of the video ram on laptops is that it could possibly overheat so its all at your own risk as far as G5s go, ppc was originally fully supported by the app regardless of what anyone will tell you. Tell them that they are free to believe whatever they want. Ok here is how you do it:
1. First you have to get your Final cut 7 install disc, and use Application>Disc Utility to make the files writable
2. next step is to right click on your install final cut studio file, and click show original
3. Then you must right click on the FinalCutStudio.mpkg file and click show package contents
4. click the contents folder right click on FinalCutStudio.dist and open it with textedit (you could also open in Xcode but most people don't have that)
5. use command F to find the first piece of code starting with "<installation" (obviously search the code without the brackets) it should say installation = blah blah blah Just delete that one line and then save the file
6. exit out of everything and go back to you original install final cut studio file
7. Open the file and it should install on a G5 fine
You could also use this to bypass ANY kind of system requirement check that it gives you an error for.
USE AT YOUR OWN RISK- also not all features may work have fun- Mitch The End
Works great on powermac g5 dual 2.0ghz

Informpage
May 19, 2014, 09:09 PM
Wish someone had followed up on this but, here is the answer:

The word Installation is only used once, find that line and eliminate the script so it looks like this:

<installation-check script=''/>

that isn't " but rather two ' ' without a space.