PDA

View Full Version : Used 12 inch powerbook- worth $250?

Bokes
Sep 1, 2011, 07:25 PM
Decent quality Used 12 inch powerbooks are going for about $250-300.
My wife is looking for a portable to use as essentially as a typewriter.
Only writing program. Some web stuff.

She look at and likes the new MacAir- she's worried about buying old and used.

tom vilsack
Sep 1, 2011, 07:56 PM
maybe rev D,E (2005).....but rem you bound to osx leopard max...also i found my old powerbook to be loud! make sure it's min 1.5ghz and loaded with ram,also check dvd to make sure it works well,and run for a few min to hear loudness of fan when warm.

i would save the $300 towards a mba...perhaps she could get by with a 2010 refurb ($749).

where the pb is relatively lite...compared to a mba it feels like a brick ;-)

Nova77
Sep 1, 2011, 08:59 PM
She could get a powerbook g4 15'' 1.67 ghz (2005)! I own one, I've been using it everyday for 4+ years (I basically take it everywhere). It is a war machine. Seriously, it received the worst treatment of all and still is working and getting the job done in 2011 (only concern is youtube's flash player, but get mactubes and you're done).

Note: Machine got dropped from a little too high, had tea on the logic board, had the screen destroyed, the hard drive burnt (put it on hot surface).... and still works ... posting from it.

Edit: a powerbook for 250$?? is it worth it? I can't talk for 12'' ones, but if they are built the same way, I'd say yes!

MAC MAN JW
Sep 1, 2011, 09:12 PM
Decent quality Used 12 inch powerbooks are going for about $250-300.
My wife is looking for a portable to use as essentially as a typewriter.
Only writing program. Some web stuff.

She look at and likes the new MacAir- she's worried about buying old and used.

$200+ is way to hi for a powerbook. you can get a used fully working macbook on ebay in the usa for $200-300. the max i wood pay for a hi-end powerbook is $150 :)

Nova77
Sep 2, 2011, 08:58 AM