PDA

View Full Version : Installing 2 x SSD in spare optical bay 2008 Mac Pro, power considerations?




sparkie7
Sep 1, 2011, 09:36 PM
thinking of installing 2x SSDs (probably 2x Vertex 3 60GB). i can then use the two unused SATA ports on the logic board to connect them up. the only thing is the power..

i have a ATI 4870 and 3870 installed, and the 4870 uses the 2nd power source from the optical reserve. is there a way to get power to the 2x SSDs in the spare optical bay? splitter perhaps?



derbothaus
Sep 1, 2011, 09:42 PM
Yes. Splitter. 2 SSD's drain so little power you should be fine.

sparkie7
Sep 1, 2011, 09:45 PM
Would this Y splitter be what I need?

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Belkin/F2N503/

And not cause too much power draw on the Mac Pro?

----------

Yes. Splitter. 2 SSD's drain so little power you should be fine.

Great thanks. Will the splitter in above link do the job?

derbothaus
Sep 1, 2011, 09:47 PM
Power draw is based on the device accessing it so probably fine.
You need SATA power though not molex.
More like this:

http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=sata+power+splitter&hl=en&prmd=ivns&resnum=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&biw=1098&bih=639&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=4820382542991301410&sa=X&ei=QENgTvaXH4PMgQe_iqmxAQ&ved=0CFcQ8wIwAQ#ps-sellers

OR with your 2008 most likely:

http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=sata+power+splitter&hl=en&prmd=ivns&resnum=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&biw=1098&bih=639&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=1797434064797218986&sa=X&ei=QENgTvaXH4PMgQe_iqmxAQ&ved=0CFMQ8gIwAA

Don't buy from these links just for picture.

sparkie7
Sep 1, 2011, 09:54 PM
Yes I can use this to split the SATA power: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Micro%20Accessories/SATAPAY/

But as mentioned in original post the 2nd power source from the optical reserve is used to power the ATI 4870. So wouldn' I still need this: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Belkin/F2N503/

..to power the connections?

derbothaus
Sep 1, 2011, 10:09 PM
You're going to split the split? Cheap enough to find out if you can do it. But I've never done it. Can't say one way or the other. Of course you should have enough power to drive everything.
You'll need both to do what you want. I forgot so quickly about the 4870 and the lack of 2008 board power.

sparkie7
Sep 1, 2011, 10:13 PM
Yes, I'm going to have to LOL. This http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Belkin/F2N503/ should do the trick right? in terms of pins and head connectors?

I hope this is not too much loading, but as you say I'm powering SSDs not HDDs.

Yeah the 4870 is a power hog!