Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jok3r

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 26, 2005
OK, So as some of you may or may not know, when the new Xbox it should be running 3 PowerPC processors (essentially the G5), each running at 3-3.5Ghz each. Ever since I read the specs on the machine I've been basically pondering two possibilities

1. Converting the Xbox to run OSX, I'm not a hardware expert so I don't know the viability of this, but it seems to me that if the new Xbox is running the same infrastructure and processors as a Mac then tinkering with it to run OSX is within the realm of possibility especially with the Open-Source UNIX elements within OSX. I know a similar conversion exists to get the Xbox to run Linux and function as a PC, but if someone figured this out, a triple core G5 machine for <$500 is pretty appealing.

2. Xgrid, if you read through the list of new features on Tiger you might have noticed that now any collection of Macs can serve as a grid computing network, would it be possible to do this with the processors on the Xbox to supercharge a current Mac (like my PowerBook for example)

I've been toying this over for a while now and the recent news about all of this got me wondering if it could work, so anyone with the technical knowledge about this I would greatly appreciate the replies

Jok3r

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 26, 2005