PDA

View Full Version : unable to launch app after migration




starlightshine
Sep 8, 2011, 09:53 AM
Hi, I've got a new mac and used Migration Assistant to migrate my documents from the old mac (running Leopard) to the new one (running Lion).

After migration, there are now two admin users on the new mac, one of which is from the old mac. When I'm log in to the old admin user account, the apps are unable to be opened.

Appreciate your help. Thanks.



Taz Mangus
Sep 8, 2011, 06:39 PM
Hi, I've got a new mac and used Migration Assistant to migrate my documents from the old mac (running Leopard) to the new one (running Lion).

After migration, there are now two admin users on the new mac, one of which is from the old mac. When I'm log in to the old admin user account, the apps are unable to be opened.

Appreciate your help. Thanks.

Login to the other admin account and delete the admin account which has the issue, System Preferences->Users & Groups, select the appropriate account and press the minus button. Make sure you select to delete the home folder.

When I migrate to a new system I always drag what I want from one system to the other. That way I can be sure that I am only copying over what I want and not neccessarily everything. It does takes a little more time and effort.

starlightshine
Sep 8, 2011, 08:04 PM
Login to the other admin account and delete the admin account which has the issue, System Preferences->Users & Groups, select the appropriate account and press the minus button. Make sure you select to delete the home folder.

When I migrate to a new system I always drag what I want from one system to the other. That way I can be sure that I am only copying over what I want and not neccessarily everything. It does takes a little more time and effort.

Thanks for the reply. That means deleting the old admin user account and do a new transfer from the old mac?

I did login as new admin user to delete the old account but did not proceed to delete. When I went back awhile later to delete, the minus sign is grey out.

Taz Mangus
Sep 8, 2011, 09:00 PM
Thanks for the reply. That means deleting the old admin user account and do a new transfer from the old mac?

I did login as new admin user to delete the old account but did not proceed to delete. When I went back awhile later to delete, the minus sign is grey out.

Two reasons why the minus button is greyed out, the padlock is locked or you are still logged into the account that you are try to delete. If the padlock is locked, click on the padlock and enter the admin password.

starlightshine
Sep 9, 2011, 01:53 AM
Two reasons why the minus button is greyed out, the padlock is locked or you are still logged into the account that you are try to delete. If the padlock is locked, click on the padlock and enter the admin password.

I found that I could not log out of the old admin user as the System Preferences could not be launched.

I used Migration Assistant as I wanted to transfer the apps with their licenses. Correct me if I am wrong. I had thought the licenses would not be transferred if I copy the apps over (say I do it over external hard disk to new mac).

Taz Mangus
Sep 9, 2011, 10:13 AM
I found that I could not log out of the old admin user as the System Preferences could not be launched.

I used Migration Assistant as I wanted to transfer the apps with their licenses. Correct me if I am wrong. I had thought the licenses would not be transferred if I copy the apps over (say I do it over external hard disk to new mac).

Why not just re-install the Apps on the new machine. Sometimes copying over apps will not work depending on how the app installs. I can tell you that I tried to copy of Adobe apps and they did not work correctly and I had to re-install them. You still own the license whether you installed the App once or more then once on the same machine. Just make sure you deactivate any active licenses on the old machine. Try creating a new admin account and use it to delete the old admin account.

starlightshine
Sep 10, 2011, 08:05 AM
Why not just re-install the Apps on the new machine. Sometimes copying over apps will not work depending on how the app installs. I can tell you that I tried to copy of Adobe apps and they did not work correctly and I had to re-install them. You still own the license whether you installed the App once or more then once on the same machine. Just make sure you deactivate any active licenses on the old machine. Try creating a new admin account and use it to delete the old admin account.

The old admin account has been deleted. Will try to install the apps and copy the documents over. Many thanks for your help.