Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

oneMadRssn

macrumors 603
Original poster
Sep 8, 2011
Hi Everyone... this is one of my first posts on this forum, although I have been a longtime reader.

I just bought and installed the Photodon HD Anti-Glare on my MBA and this is a short review. This is not the "T" anti-glare film, nor is the the "A" crystal clear film.

Backstory: I bought a new Core i7 13" Macbook Air and was super excited to have this awesome laptop for school. :D It's light, it's blazing fast, and I can last almost all day on the battery. One problem: after less than 3 weeks of use, I notice scratches on my screen. Not one big scratch, but hundreds of tiny little scratches. :confused: Being a law student, I carry lots of very thick and heavy books around which probably pressed my laptop in my bag (although it was in a padded case, inside the padded compartment of my bag). The scratches formed a rectangular shape. It was pretty obvious these scratches were from the sharp metal edge around the trackpad and under the space bar. It was pretty ugly, and bugging me that this would happen week 3 on a $1700 computer. :mad: I went to an Apple store and they tried cleaning it, then they tried polishing/buffing them out. Eventually they just gave me a completely new computer, in the retail box. That was awesome because they did not ask for the the old box/accessories back so now I have two chargers. :cool:

Anyway, back to the Photodon screen protector....
I did not want this to happen again, so I ordered this screen protector right away when I got home. For the following week I would law down a microfiber cloth (that black one that came with my old mac) on top of the trackpad and keyboard and closed the screen on that, to prevent scratches.