PDA

View Full Version : Help please with Duplicate / Unlock nonsense

Azathoth
Sep 9, 2011, 03:55 AM
Bought new MBA13. Still have SL on my MBP15
OS X Lion is driving me crazy. More user prompts than Windows :-s

1. Open Mac Mail
2. Click on PDF attachment
3. Rotate attachment (because it was scanned in the horizontal direction)
4. Lion dialog "blah blah email attachment blah blah. Duplicate. Unlock. Cancel."
5. Lol wut?
6. Curse

I don't want some extra dialog box every time I open a PDF. I'm an engineer. I open hundereds of PDF schematics every day. And rotate them.
I've recompile Linux kernels, but the dialog box is not obvious (to me) as to what's going on - there is no way I'm upgrading my mother's Mac to Lion. She'll be scared to use the machine again.

I've turned off the Versioning in Time Machine, but it doesn't stop the stop dialog box *every time I do something with a PDF*. Can anyone help?

The Phazer
Sep 9, 2011, 08:50 AM
Unfortunately you're screwed.

The only good advice here would be to go back to Snow Leopard, which had a far more usable UI for this sort of thing. But because you've got a new Air, you can't even do that.

Apple's advice apparently would be "don't open lots of PDFs".

Only thing you can do is send feedback to Apple of exactly why this experience is so dreadful and pray they provide a proper setting to just turn versions off entirely and go back to the far superior SL paradigm if users want to.

Phazer

baryon
Sep 9, 2011, 10:12 AM
Use software that hasn't been updated yet with Versions, such as Adobe's PDF reader and stuff like that. Use Word instead of Pages, and you're sorted! Make sure you don't update them when they do gain support for this horribly stupid "feature" though. Or let's hope they'll let us disable it.

Azathoth
Sep 9, 2011, 11:40 AM