Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

johnnyfinlandia

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 22, 2011
Just got my lovely new Macbook Air 13" and it is lovely.
Only downside is that the 9 beeps of death (S.O.S. for Memory or Logic board) come on :(

I live in Finland and my friend brought it back (I paid) from the States so have to see if they can replace with a new one as I don't fancy a 'repaired' logic board.

Shame as it has the 128GB Samsung drive too.

One lovey machine but really for a new one to do this is not good. I had bought maybe 20 machines in the last 5 years all PCs and one did need a replacement. So this ups the bad ratio. :-(

Let's see what happens. Any thoughts appreciated. I understand it is a Worldwide warranty.

Queen6

macrumors G4
Everything produced has a failure rate, equally I have been using Mac`s for over 20 years and never had an issue, it`s just the luck of the draw. Apple stand by their product and will take care of the problem.

In General Mac`s are more reliable than most...

johnnyfinlandia

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 22, 2011
Yes I know .. just sad when I get one :roll eyes:
Anyway I really do like the whole experience normally keyboard, startup, using, portability etc.
Will call the local team today and see what they say.
Working on the Mac now and it seems fine under power use.
Wouldn't start at all under battery when I left it for 30 mins.
I will update when I get some news.

johnnyfinlandia

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 22, 2011
fixed ... ?!

After contacting Apple in Finland they were very helpful and seem to have sorted it.

He asked me to do a hard power reset - keep 'shift-control-alt' and then power on - seems to do nothing (which it should) and then booted up fine both from shutdown and sleep.

The broken apple logo and loads of text were not there anymore.