PDA

View Full Version : What to do with a Powermac g4 mirror door




jbsmithmac
Sep 29, 2011, 12:37 PM
I have an old powermac g4 that is just sitting around with 10.4 installed.

I thought of selling it but it looks like I can only get about $20 out of it...not to mention the $35 to ship it if the person desired.

I do a lot of image editing and thought this might be good for a network file server, but then thought the network would be too bogged down (home network).

So looking for ideas as to what I could do with it before it goes to goodwill or something of the like.



adcx64
Sep 29, 2011, 01:31 PM
What are the specs on the machine?

Nova77
Sep 29, 2011, 03:14 PM
I use a G4 MDD as my main desktop computer (specs in my sig) and it is really nice. I bet you can put it to good use. What are specs? Do you want to upgrade it?

iBookG4user
Sep 29, 2011, 03:19 PM
You could use it as an external hard drive by booting it into Target Disk Mode.

adcx64
Sep 29, 2011, 04:43 PM
You could use it as an external hard drive by booting it into Target Disk Mode.

That would be a HUGE waste of power!

iBookG4user
Sep 29, 2011, 05:21 PM
That would be a HUGE waste of power!

It would be an awesome looking huge waste of power though :)

ThunderSnake
Sep 29, 2011, 06:17 PM
I thought of selling it but it looks like I can only get about $20 out of it...not to mention the $35 to ship it if the person desired.

You can likely get $50+ for the PSU alone.

Give us the stats on the machine and tell us what you'd like to do with it and you'll prolly get some good suggestions. I still use one of these as my main machine--For just about everything except crunching video. I still do heavy image editing on it almost daily.

jbsmithmac
Sep 29, 2011, 06:38 PM
Specs as I remember...because it's currently powered down in my closet.

It is the dual 867mhz mirror drive door with I believe 2gb of ram. 4 hard drives (but nothing huge or fast).

I am fairly far from the city so my Internet speed is only 512k down (like satellite install but a bit different). So this may limit the uses.

I have two websites that I manage so I do a lot with dreamweaver and as stated before I am a heavy user of Photoshop and lightroom as well...but used on my MBP but do have a lot stored on a network drive through the airport extreme.

So outside of a loud and hot NAS I don't know what I could do with it. I rarely go in the office to use a desktop because of the MBP and iPad. So any ideas welcome.

I'd be open to upgrade if the cost-benefit ratio is appropriate. :)

ThunderSnake
Sep 29, 2011, 07:30 PM
I'd be open to upgrade if the cost-benefit ratio is appropriate. :)

I'm hesitant to offer suggestions for upgrades without knowing what you want to do. Really, it sounds like the MBP is more your cup of tea and you really don't have a need for the MDD.

Just to give you some rough ideas, though:

For about $25, you can get a dual 1.25 GHz module from eBay. Since you have the slower motherboard, you'll have to either...

1) Adjust the bus timing ratio of the module so that it will run at its rated speed on your 133MHz motherboard. This involves relocating some surface mount resistors, but it's not as difficult as it might sound and I can tell you how to build a soldering iron if you don't have one.

2) Modify the motherboard to run at 166MHz. This is done by simply removing one resistor from the motherboard. However, it will require the additional cost of PC 2700 or PC 3200 memory unless you happen to already have this installed.

Inserting a dual 1.25 GHz module without any modifications is also an option, but it will only run at 1 GHz. Of course, fresh thermal compound is also required whenever the heatsink is removed.

A nice video card can also improve performance. Depending on your photo apps of choice, a Core Image video card can make a more dramatic difference than a CPU upgrade. An economical choice is a Radeon 9800 Pro. You can find the PC version on eBay for $20 without much trouble (you'll need to flash with a Mac rom) or one that has already been flashed for $60 to $80. In either case, remove the heatsink and apply fresh thermal compound to the GPU (you have no idea where this card has been).

If you're planning to sell it, the only things of real value are the PSU & ram. The slower motherboard and CPUs don't really sell. Donating it to someone who needs a computer, as you suggested in your original post, would also be very nice. There are plenty of folks out there, many of whom are struggling just to buy food, who would be absolutely thrilled to have it.

jbsmithmac
Sep 29, 2011, 07:49 PM
I'm hesitant to offer suggestions for upgrades without knowing what you want to do. Really, it sounds like the MBP is more your cup of tea and you really don't have a need for the MDD.

Just to give you some rough ideas, though:

For about $25, you can get a dual 1.25 GHz module from eBay. Since you have the slower motherboard, you'll have to either...


Ok I guess my most obvious use would be to make it a file server/network drive.

Couple questions on this option...

1) do I need to upgrade to 1.25mhz as stated above (I'd need more info on the motherboard changes)?
2) do I need some type of software like freenas (something that would run on ppc)?
3) using a airport extreme for my router...will the gigabit ethernet and a laptop connected wirelessly have enough bandwidth to edit images (camera raw files) and Internet usage?
4) I've heard about some putting dual Ethernet cards in the tower - why, what does this get me?

Jethryn Freyman
Sep 29, 2011, 08:36 PM
Well, do you need another computer for anything? I have an old G4 tower I have sitting around as a backup in case my normal machine suddenly dies.

jbsmithmac
Sep 29, 2011, 09:00 PM
Well, do you need another computer for anything? I have an old G4 tower I have sitting around as a backup in case my normal machine suddenly dies.

I do...I use my MBP mostly, then my iMac, then a crappy pc (for testing cross platform compatibility)...and then this g4 that I'd like to keep/repurpose.

ThunderSnake
Sep 29, 2011, 09:12 PM
I don't think a CPU upgrade would make much of a difference in this case.

Is it just the MBP that you'd be using this with? Unless I misunderstand what you're asking, you probably just need to enable file sharing. It might be more practical to upgrade your network drive, though. As suggested above, this will draw a lot of power (more than 100 watts) for a glorified hard drive.

jbsmithmac
Sep 29, 2011, 09:20 PM
I don't think a CPU upgrade would make much of a difference in this case.

Is it just the MBP that you'd be using this with?

Yes mostly...but it seems now that when time machine kicks in it uses all of the bandwidth of the airport extreme (MBP is wireless) and then no other computers or it can get to the net until it's done. Similar issues when editing image files on the share drive.

I am currently just plugging the external hd into the USB port on the extreme...is the extreme just not really made for this?

mrsir2009
Sep 29, 2011, 09:44 PM
You could use it as an external hard drive by booting it into Target Disk Mode.

Yeah but its probably got something like a 50GB hard disk. :p

jbsmithmac
Sep 29, 2011, 10:08 PM
Yeah but its probably got something like a 50GB hard disk. :p

Ha...it's got a little more than that. Maybe 250. :)

mrsir2009
Sep 29, 2011, 10:58 PM
Ha...it's got a little more than that. Maybe 250. :)

That must have been a really big hard disk back in the day... Because my Dad's 2006 MacBook Pro only has a 70GB HDD, and the computer you've got is a fair bit older than that!

My iBookG3's HDD is only 10GB. :o

chrismacguy
Sep 30, 2011, 03:50 AM
That must have been a really big hard disk back in the day... Because my Dad's 2006 MacBook Pro only has a 70GB HDD, and the computer you've got is a fair bit older than that!

My iBookG3's HDD is only 10GB. :o

Desktop HDDs were cheap, and the MDD could well've been upgraded significantly. (Since they don't have the 128GB Limit - So My Dual 867 has 2*160GB Drives in it and runs iTunes very nicely - however it certainly didn't ship in this configuration, I believe 60,80 and 120GB Drives were the options on the Dual 867s).

reebzor
Sep 30, 2011, 07:18 AM
buy a PCI-x sata card, some huge hard drives and turn that thing into a fileserver for storage and backup. It will be a little faster than the external connected to your Airport. All of your other macs could backup to it with Time Machine, you could store all the files that you arent working on atm, plus you could even run apache on it to test out your websites.

zen.state
Sep 30, 2011, 10:21 AM
I don't understand these type of threads/questions..

A computer computes and if you had a true need for it then you wouldn't be asking the question in the first place. It's like making a thread about what you should eat for dinner.

The fact that we get a few threads like this per week tells me that many people just can't think for themselves and actually need to be told what to do with a computer. A computer does computing.. that's what you do with it. If you already had a computing need that wasn't being filled then you would know that on your own.

What web page should I go to next? What should I eat for lunch? What is the sun for?

Nova77
Sep 30, 2011, 10:42 AM
I don't understand these type of threads/questions..

A computer computes and if you had a true need for it then you wouldn't be asking the question in the first place. It's like making a thread about what you should eat for dinner.

The fact that we get a few threads like this per week tells me that many people just can't think for themselves and actually need to be told what to do with a computer. A computer does computing.. that's what you do with it. If you already had a computing need that wasn't being filled then you would know that on your own.

What web page should I go to next? What should I eat for lunch? What is the sun for?

I guess those people just need to hear their old computers still have plenty of power to do lots of things. Weird thing is most of the time, these people end up not caring about it at all and turning their computers into file servers, a task any old crap computer mac or pc, can handle.

stroked
Sep 30, 2011, 11:46 AM
I don't understand these type of threads/questions..

A computer computes and if you had a true need for it then you wouldn't be asking the question in the first place. It's like making a thread about what you should eat for dinner.

The fact that we get a few threads like this per week tells me that many people just can't think for themselves and actually need to be told what to do with a computer. A computer does computing.. that's what you do with it. If you already had a computing need that wasn't being filled then you would know that on your own.

What web page should I go to next? What should I eat for lunch? What is the sun for?

I guess those people just need to hear their old computers still have plenty of power to do lots of things. Weird thing is most of the time, these people end up not caring about it at all and turning their computers into file servers, a task any old crap computer mac or pc, can handle.

I like reading these post, especially replies like post #9, by ThunderSnake.

jbsmithmac
Sep 30, 2011, 08:57 PM
I don't understand these type of threads/questions..

A computer computes and if you had a true need for it then you wouldn't be asking the question in the first place. It's like making a thread about what you should eat for dinner.

The fact that we get a few threads like this per week tells me that many people just can't think for themselves and actually need to be told what to do with a computer. A computer does computing.. that's what you do with it. If you already had a computing need that wasn't being filled then you would know that on your own.

What web page should I go to next? What should I eat for lunch? What is the sun for?

Sorry I offended you...thanks for letting me know you are smarter than I.

I simply wanted to know what people are doing with their old g4's that are not their primary machine...before I take this one to the dump.

Nameci
Sep 30, 2011, 11:24 PM
Don't take zen's comment as negative for you. Just read between the lines.

If you are really into making it as a file server or anything, just go on with it.

Mostly what I do is I just try doing the thing in my mind first before asking questions. Remember that experience is the best teacher of all.

jbsmithmac
Oct 1, 2011, 05:51 AM
I would like to make my 867mdd g4 the fastest it can be...so I was going to put in the 1.25 MHz dual processors.

Looking on eBay I am not sure what I need to buy and swap. Can someone let me know what is correct?


I was looking at something like

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-PowerMac-G4-1-25GHz-DP-820-1472-A-630-4799-/250823115579?pt=CPUs&hash=item3a6639033b#ht_500wt_689

ThunderSnake
Oct 1, 2011, 09:48 AM
I would like to make my 867mdd g4 the fastest it can be...so I was going to put in the 1.25 MHz dual processors.

Looking on eBay I am not sure what I need to buy and swap. Can someone let me know what is correct?


I was looking at something like

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-PowerMac-G4-1-25GHz-DP-820-1472-A-630-4799-/250823115579?pt=CPUs&hash=item3a6639033b#ht_500wt_689

The CPU module in your link will work (Any MDD CPU module can be made to work with any MDD motherboard). With no modification, the module will run at 1GHz on your 133MHz board. Take a look at the 133MHz column in this chart (http://bitsandpieces.info/Multipliers.htm). You can clock it to 1.2 GHz or 1.267 GHz with only removing resistors (you don't have to solder anything back on). For example, to run at 1.267 GHz, you would remove R3, R4, R5, and R6 (R7 and R8 should already be open). This might look daunting, but you'll be surprised at the precision work you can do under a good quality magnifying glass.

An nice tutorial for applying fresh thermal compound can be found here (http://www.jcsenterprises.com/Japamacs_Page/Blog/9AE7FE0E-0CF2-4A7C-8003-489B282582BC.html). Note that it was written a couple years back and the same writer probably uses MX-4 now.

ThunderSnake
Oct 1, 2011, 10:05 AM
How to know which mb needed to upgrade a g4 867 mdd?

Are you planning to upgrade the MB too? Really, it might be more economical to look for a good deal on a working unit and keep your old one for the spare power supply.

zen.state
Oct 1, 2011, 10:10 AM
The CPU module in your link will work (Any MDD CPU module can be made to work with any MDD motherboard).

This is true but one stipulation on that is if you have a dual 1.42 daughter card it is highly recommended and even a must to use the copper heatsink as opposed to one of the 2 different aluminum variants.

Nameci
Oct 1, 2011, 10:15 AM
I have transplanted a dual 1.42 on 167Mhz single 1.25 logic board. And it works great.

ThunderSnake
Oct 1, 2011, 11:50 AM
This is true but one stipulation on that is if you have a dual 1.42 daughter card it is highly recommended and even a must to use the copper heatsink as opposed to one of the 2 different aluminum variants.

Yes, thanks! Very egregious omission on my part. I almost mentioned that I've picked up dual 1.42 modules in the same price range as the 1.25 linked above, but that does bring the need for the more expensive copper heatsink. These are hard to find good deals on and nearly always sell for the $50 asking price.

That said, with CHUD nap mode enabled, I'd be comfortable using the sheet metal version like this one (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-PowerMac-G4-MDD-Heat-Sink-/120776352169?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c1ed4e1a9). I actually did this for a few months on one of my machines while I was waiting for a good deal on a copper one. The difference was only about three degrees on average.

Nova77
Oct 1, 2011, 02:14 PM
I would like to make my 867mdd g4 the fastest it can be...so I was going to put in the 1.25 MHz dual processors.

Looking on eBay I am not sure what I need to buy and swap. Can someone let me know what is correct?


I was looking at something like

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-PowerMac-G4-1-25GHz-DP-820-1472-A-630-4799-/250823115579?pt=CPUs&hash=item3a6639033b#ht_500wt_689

Glad to hear you are not taking this machine to the dump... If you plan on doing so, please give it to me instead!!

After buying a CPU upgrade, you might consider buying another motherboard with 167 mhz front size bus, unless you want to try desoldering to make your 133 mhz motherboard reach 167 mhz. From what I've read, it isn't always as stable as a real 167 one, and it might not work at all.... You can always try it and dump the motherboard if it doesn't work.

ThunderSnake
Oct 1, 2011, 02:59 PM
Glad to hear you are not taking this machine to the dump... If you plan on doing so, please give it to me instead!!

After buying a CPU upgrade, you might consider buying another motherboard with 167 mhz front size bus, unless you want to try desoldering to make your 133 mhz motherboard reach 167 mhz. From what I've read, it isn't always as stable as a real 167 one, and it might not work at all.... You can always try it and dump the motherboard if it doesn't work.

He would also need new ram if he upgrades the motherboard. At that point, it might make more sense to get an entire working machine. Well, economically it would make more sense. It wouldn't be nearly as much fun. :D

This decision should be made before making any adjustments to the new CPU since you'll just have to solder those bridges back if you upgrade the motherboard later.

OP, what speed memory do you have? I'm assuming PC 2100, but if you happen to have PC 2700 or PC 3200 installed, you can use that with a faster board or first try Nova77's suggestion and see if you can get your own board running at 167 (doesn't always work). Then you wouldn't need to modify any settings on your new CPU module.

76ShovelHead
Oct 2, 2011, 02:05 AM
Well, I'm hoping to get a PowerMac sooner or later. Reason being, I wan't to "upgrade" it's motherboard to that of an Intel SB compatible one, or even just an LGA 775 and put my Pentium inside it. Then just put my Lion drive in it and bam I got an Intel Macintosh. People upgrade their systems all the time, even Mac Pro's, so thats the best way to look at it ;)

jbsmithmac
Oct 2, 2011, 10:19 AM
He would also need new ram if he upgrades the motherboard. At that point, it might make more sense to get an entire working machine. Well, economically it would make more sense. It wouldn't be nearly as much fun. :D

This decision should be made before making any adjustments to the new CPU since you'll just have to solder those bridges back if you upgrade the motherboard later.

OP, what speed memory do you have? I'm assuming PC 2100, but if you happen to have PC 2700 or PC 3200 installed, you can use that with a faster board or first try Nova77's suggestion and see if you can get your own board running at 167 (doesn't always work). Then you wouldn't need to modify any settings on your new CPU module.

PC2600. All 4 bays with 512MB.

Nova77
Oct 2, 2011, 10:57 AM
PC2600. All 4 bays with 512MB.

If I am right, PC2600 don't exist. Its a system bug that shows it that way (same thing on my MDD). You have PC2700, which is OK for 167 mhz bus motherboard.

Nameci
Oct 2, 2011, 11:00 AM
Yes there is no PC 2600. It is PC2700. It shows the same too on my dual 1.42.

jbsmithmac
Oct 2, 2011, 11:14 AM
If I am right, PC2600 don't exist. Its a system bug that shows it that way (same thing on my MDD). You have PC2700, which is OK for 167 mhz bus motherboard.

I didn't think it did, but didn't know of the bug.

aednichols
Oct 6, 2011, 01:17 AM
This is true but one stipulation on that is if you have a dual 1.42 daughter card it is highly recommended and even a must to use the copper heatsink as opposed to one of the 2 different aluminum variants.

I'm familiar with the copper sink and the really heavy machined aluminum block, but no more. What models did it ship with?

zen.state
Oct 6, 2011, 12:59 PM
I'm familiar with the copper sink and the really heavy machined aluminum block, but no more. What models did it ship with?

These are the two different aluminum heatsinks. The thinner-finned one tended to be found mostly in the single and dual 1.25GHz models. It's a bit better than the fatter-finned one that I had in my dual 867MHz.

http://i.ebayimg.com/t/Apple-PowerMac-G4-MDD-Dual-cpu-DP-heatsink-1-25GHz-/16/!BUi-rD!CGk~$%28KGrHgoH-DMEjlLluysEBKOCMHkQQw~~_35.JPG

http://i.ebayimg.com/t/Apple-PowerMac-G4-MDD-heatsink-DP-Dual-CPU-/12/!BUj!tfQ!2k~$%28KGrHgoOKjQEjlLmVoWOBKOC%28,%29MH!~~_35.JPG

ThunderSnake
Oct 6, 2011, 05:30 PM
These are the two different aluminum heatsinks. The thinner-finned one tended to be found mostly in the single and dual 1.25GHz models. It's a bit better than the fatter-finned one that I had in my dual 867MHz.


Is that aluminum? I've always assumed that it was something else since it's so heavy. In any case, that's the one I was talking about (zen.state's top picture)--The one that I consider an acceptable alternative on a budget. I used this for a few months with a temperature difference of less than three degrees compared to an identical machine (both dual 1.42) with a copper one. However, I did not overclock this machine until I replaced it with the copper one. Again, as always with my MDDs, this is with CHUD nap mode enabled.

This was a HEAVY USE machine, though. It was before I got my MBP, so I was still using it for encoding video, often running it at full speed for 20+ hours at a time.

Tyroler
Oct 13, 2011, 01:39 AM
I have an old powermac g4 that is just sitting around with 10.4 installed.

I thought of selling it but it looks like I can only get about $20 out of it...not to mention the $35 to ship it if the person desired.

I do a lot of image editing and thought this might be good for a network file server, but then thought the network would be too bogged down (home network).

So looking for ideas as to what I could do with it before it goes to goodwill or something of the like.
www.Gumtree.com/macs http://www.gumtree.com/macs
http://www.gumtree.com/cgi-bin/list_postings.pl?search_terms=mac+g4+&search_location=United+Kingdom&ubercat=702

yguttu
Feb 17, 2013, 03:13 PM
Hi, I"m new to the forum

I've taken over a friends Dual mirror Door Mac
I've been contemplating an upgrade as follows:

a faster processor (mine's the slow version 867)
a new, quiter fan (!!!)
upgrading the OS ( current system is 10.2.)
More disk space

Here are my questions:
What is the "highest"/newest OS a G4 MD can take?
In this forum I've seen OS 10.5.8

I"m guessing the disk space/processor speed is the limitation, so in what order should I do stuff?

Upgrade the system ?
Get More Disk space
Upgrade the processor
Switch out the noisy fan?

Thank you for any input!
yguttu

MisterKeeks
Feb 17, 2013, 03:40 PM
Hi, I"m new to the forum

I've taken over a friends Dual mirror Door Mac
I've been contemplating an upgrade as follows:

a faster processor (mine's the slow version 867)
a new, quiter fan (!!!)
upgrading the OS ( current system is 10.2.)
More disk space

Here are my questions:
What is the "highest"/newest OS a G4 MD can take?
In this forum I've seen OS 10.5.8

I"m guessing the disk space/processor speed is the limitation, so in what order should I do stuff?

Upgrade the system ?
Get More Disk space
Upgrade the processor
Switch out the noisy fan?

Thank you for any input!
yguttu

Help us by including the current specs. That can take 2GBs of RAM. No, you cannot upgrade past 10.5.8. Definitely upgrade the OS, 10.2 is unuseable. Either 10.4 and 10.5 would work. 10.5 is slower but has better compatibility with software. 10.4 is faster, slightly less compatibility. 10.5 is a RAM hog, so if you have 1GB or less go with 10.4.

sheddz
Dec 12, 2013, 04:36 AM
Hi,
I'm new to the forum so apologies if I make a faux pas.

I currently run a G4 Mirrored door mac as a fileserver for my home studio. There are two of us working off the machine everyday (web dev, graphics, print etc). The system has been up and running for more than a year without any issues.

I have added two sonnet PCI (can't remember the name) cards (small firmware upgrade to the cards required) so I could install larger capacity sata hard drives instead of the smaller, slower pata(?) drive, 2 of which are configured as RAID 1 and acts as the main drive, another smaller drive for the OS and another as a backup.

I have also installed 'sharepoints' from hornware.com as the system is currently running a standard install of 10.4.x (Needed to add sharing capabilities)

I use Chronosync from econtechnologies.com as my backup software (They provide a OS 10.4 version if you ask). Which backups up to an external firewire hd.

It's all connected though CAT5 GB ethernet via Netgear switch.

I administer the G4 using VNC software as there's no keyboard on monitor attached.

The only issues I've so far encountered is the occasional file permissions sometimes goes a bit funny. It's a very minor issue which happens very rarely and is easily fixed by accessing the G4 remotely and changing the file permisssions as the local admin user account.

I have been toying with the idea of using the G4 as my web dev server (apache + mysql) as well be decided to use a redundant Intel Mac Mini instead.

I recently got a copy of OSX 10.5 server from ebay so gonna install that on the old G4 over the Christmas break which I'm hoping will solve the small permission errors.

I spent a good deal of time online researching everything that I thought I'd need before starting the build and setup. When setting up, it's a good idea to document the steps in case you need to rebuild or back track a little.

Hope that's useful to anyone else thinking about reusing and old mac. If you've got the time and don't mind 'having a go' then in my experience it's a worthwhile thing to do, especially if budget is tight.

Vintage Macs rock :D

Cheers, Sheddz.

seveej
Dec 13, 2013, 03:08 AM
I have an old powermac g4 that is just sitting around with 10.4 installed.

SNIP

So looking for ideas as to what I could do with it before it goes to goodwill or something of the like.

This might not be what the OP is out for, but I've seen it done wit a quicksilver, and it should be doable with an MDD:

A nesting box: Remove the innards, pop out the speaker or a drive door, Close the holes in the bottom (tar paper?), turn it upside down, hang it in a tree. It even has a good latched side for periodic cleaning.

RGDS,