PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 boot time

komoornik
Oct 5, 2011, 03:16 PM
I'm a bit dissaponted about the win 7 boot time.

On 99% computers with SSD's I've used in the past, the glowing windows logo was just appearing for a second or two. On MBA it stays for 10 to 15 seconds.

Full boot to Win 7 takes about 45 seconds - terribly slow for a SSD drive :mad:

Am I the only one?

P.S. I'm using i5 4/128 11.6" Air.

edit: OK, I was pissed so i reinstalled Windows - and BOOM ! Without the drivers it takes straight 30 seconds from pushing the power button. I need to investigate this.

edit 2: after manual install of drivers - it's the ****ing graphics driver from intel. seems like that windows logo freezes with them. I got to do smth with it coz it's 10-15 seconds longer boot time :(

liudekhua
Oct 5, 2011, 07:30 PM
i have a mba 13" 2010 max out. the boot time for my windows 7 is roughly the same as yours, 30-40 sec. it is ridiculously slow for an ssd but i couldnt figure out why and i rarely boot to windows so it didnt really bothered me.

Mayo7
Oct 5, 2011, 07:33 PM
For what it's worth, Windows 7 boot time for my Windows laptop (a lenovo) with OCZ Vertex2 SSD is just around 60 seconds.

TheRealDamager
Oct 5, 2011, 11:33 PM
I've never understood all of the angst about boot times on the Air. I boot MAYBE once every 2 months - are you shutting down every day?

komoornik
Oct 6, 2011, 12:02 AM
I would understand it, if the logo would be glowing all the time.

But I can clearly see it's freezing, so it's not looking normal.

komoornik
Oct 6, 2011, 03:58 PM
Can anyboody atleast confirm, I'm not the only one?

KPOM
Oct 6, 2011, 04:36 PM
It's about 25 seconds for me (compared to about 15 seconds for OS X). I have the 2011 11" i7/256GB model.